Revised Section 2.7.4 of the Instruction Guide for the Preparation of Actuarial Reports for Defined Benefit Pension Plans – Draft

Document properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: July 9, 2021
  • To: Actuaries and other stakeholders of pension plans with defined benefit provisions registered or having filed an application for registration under the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) issued a final version of the Instruction Guide for the Preparation of Actuarial Reports for Defined Benefit Pension Plans (the Guide) in November 2020 following consultation that was initiated in December 2019. The purpose of the Guide is to set out the reporting requirements of actuarial reports filed with OSFI for defined benefit pension plans, including those with a defined contribution component.

Almost all respondents provided comments on section 2.7.4 – Alternative Settlement Methods of the Draft Guide, which includes OSFI expectations for pension plans using a replicating portfolio approach. Given the extent of the changes outlined in the Draft Guide and comments received, the consultation led OSFI to postpone significant changes to a later date. Only changes required to clarify the previous text and OSFI expectations related to disclosure requirements were made to section 2.7.4 of the Guide.

Further review has since been conducted and enhancements have been formulated. The attached table in Annex 1 presents a summary of the comments that were received and how OSFI has addressed them. We thank those who participated in the consultation process.

Some of the comments that were received (e.g. solvency reserve account) relate to changes to the current legislation for federally registered private pension plans, which does not fall under OSFI’s responsibility. These comments have been forwarded to the Department of Finance.

The revisions to the Guide provide updated expectations for plans using a replicating portfolio approach. The revised section 2.7.4 of the Guide is being issued in draft form so that pension plan stakeholders have the opportunity to provide input on these changes. It is expected that these modifications will apply to actuarial reports with a valuation date on and after December 31, 2021.

Questions and comments concerning these changes may be sent to Marc Sauvé, Senior Manager, Actuarial in the Private Pension Plans Division, by email at marc.sauve@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Comments should be provided no later than September 10, 2021.

A non-attributed summary of comments received regarding the revised section 2.7.4 of the Guide, along with OSFI’s response, will be posted on OSFI’s website when the final version of the Guide is released.

Yours truly,

Tamara DeMos
Managing Director
Private Pension Plans Division

Annex 1: Summary of Comments Received and OSFI Response

ItemCommentOSFI Response
Alternative settlement methods

For solvency valuation purposes, the CIA Guidance on alternative settlement methods describes four alternative settlement approaches that may be considered, as follows:

  1. The purchase of a series of annuities over a period of a few years;
  2. The establishment of a replicating portfolio in trust to provide for the payment of pension benefits over an extended period of time;
  3. Lump sum payments to plan beneficiaries; and
  4. An assumed modification to the terms of the benefit promise (e.g., substituting fixed rate increases for benefits indexed to CPI increases).

OSFI allows options #1 and #2 only, but should also consider permitting options #3 and #4. In accordance with CIA Guidance, the actuary may contemplate an exercise of regulatory discretion or change in legislation to permit the settlement of benefits under one of these alternative method options.

Options #3 and #4 do not comply with the current legislation (see footnote 93 of the Guide).

Assuming a change in the legislation, for which the Department of Finance is responsible, would not be consistent with OSFI’s mandate of administering the legislation as it is currently. Also, the objective of performing a solvency valuation based on the plan provisions as at the valuation date would not be met.

Model risk

Some respondents have signaled that consistency between plans will not be achieved by shifting to a life insurance model with extremely high thresholds due to differences within the models themselves used by pension plans.

One respondent suggested that OSFI commit to signing off on alternative approaches to the one described in the Guide, ahead of the first actuarial valuation subject to the revised Guide.

OSFI agrees that model risk could lead to significant differences in results from one plan to another if a common approach is not followed to validate and calibrate the models.

OSFI recognizes that reviewing, testing and providing guidance on how tail risks are addressed and calculated should be consistent between plans. Leveraging existing methods used by pension plans and relying on CIA Guidance for the use of models and accepted actuarial practices for stochastic modeling is deemed to be sufficient to provide this consistency.

Stochastic modeling method

OSFI was asked to explain its concerns regarding the approaches currently being used and why the use of Conditional Tail Expectation (CTE) and a one-year period model was instead proposed in the Draft Guide.

A few respondents argued that OSFI should permit other models that may be developed in the future, if they can be shown to provide the targeted level of benefit security. Other respondents expressed the view that the use of life insurance models is inappropriate for pension plans, notably because excess funding in a pension plan is released as trapped surplus unlike for insurers, and also because these models are too complex for administrators and beneficiaries to understand.

The main objective for updating OSFI expectations with respect to the replicating portfolio approach is to ensure similar benefit security across defined benefit pension plans subject to the federal private pension plans legislation, by addressing issues such as:

  • fairness with plans that cannot or choose not to use a replicating portfolio;
  • consistency of approach between plans using a replicating portfolio, i.e. modelling methodology, asset mix of the portfolio, and level of margins for economic and non-economic risks; and
  • ease of supervision.

In light of the feedback received, OSFI concluded that imposing the use of a CTE measure and a one-year period model taking into account remaining risks thereafter may not be practical to achieve its stated objectives. The Guide was adjusted to align with the approach predominantly used by pension plans when stochastic modeling is performed and featuring a Value at Risk (VaR) measure over the runoff period of liabilities.

Further, the revised section 2.7.4 moves away from trying to reproduce how a plan using a replicating portfolio would be funded after the termination date (e.g. intervals or times for filing the actuarial report, payment of deficit, utilization of surplus …). The requirement for adjusting the available financial support from the employer based on the termination scenario was removed. The focus is on the security of benefits at the valuation date, not at a future valuation date.

Confidence level

Many respondents to the consultation on the Draft Guide agree that the level of benefit security under the replicating portfolio approach should be high, though not as high as the implied 99.5% probability.

OSFI considers that the level of benefit security should be similar from one plan to another. The replicating portfolio approach should not be interpreted as providing a form of partial solvency funding relief to some pension plans.

For parity with plans subject to the annuity proxy, the starting point remains at the 99.5% level, which is the underlying benefit security level of pension benefits guaranteed by life insurance companies.

Margins for economic risks

A number of suggestions were made to adjust and clarify the approach in setting the appropriate margins for economic risks.

In consideration of the feedback received, OSFI has adjusted the Guide to require that the provision for adverse deviations be aligned with a confidence level that the pension plan will be fully funded over the runoff period of liabilities ranging from 85% to 99.5%, based on the credit rating of the employer. Those levels are currently deemed reasonable in consideration of OSFI’s stated objectives.

Stochastic modeling requires the generation of a high number of scenarios, commensurate to the confidence level to be achieved. However, the earlier reference to 10,000 scenarios was deleted to avoid confusion, as it was not an explicit requirement but an indication only that some confidence levels may require so many scenarios.

Margins for non-economic risks

Some respondents wanted to better understand how the stress test to the best estimate assumptions were determined.

A few respondents asked why the provision for non-economic risks was apportioned based on the provision for economic risks. It was also suggested to remove the provision for non-economic risks.

About mortality more specifically, it was noted that most plans using the replicating portfolio are sufficiently large to have credible data (or partially credible data) to adjust the mortality rates so that the imposition of an arbitrary margin is unnecessary. With respect to longevity, it was suggested that the margin should be decreased when a base table resulting in longer life expectancies than that of the CPM2014 table is used.

With respect to plan expenses, it was argued that economies of scale could be generated in the context of unfavorable scenarios and that an additional provision for expenses may not be required. There was also a comment on the small size of the provision if a margin for additional expenses as a result of the stress testing of the mortality level and trend was introduced.

Also, one respondent noted that data risk is a component of non-economic operational risk for which a provision may be considered.

The levels of stress test for non-economic risks aim to align with a VaR at the 99.5% confidence level, based on expert judgment. The Guide was revised to allow for a reduction in the provision based on the credit rating of the employer. A simple method for the determination of the provision for non-economic risks was previously the only permitted method. The Guide was clarified to indicate that other methods may be used.

The Guide already confirms that mortality tables and improvement scales should follow CIA Standards and Guidance, which suggests in particular that large plans perform regular mortality studies, which provides some comfort in the level of the best estimate assumption. Nevertheless, OSFI considers that some uncertainty still remains, which explains why a margin is included for the mortality level. The margin for longevity trend also remains unchanged for all plans since future mortality improvement is subject to a high level of uncertainty and discussion. 

While margins for some non-economic risks (e.g. expenses) may be small, the related risks are not insignificant and OSFI considers that a provision should still be calculated. In consideration of the feedback received, OSFI has adjusted the Guide:

  • to remove some of the expense margins;
  • to reflect situations where margins for economic and non-economic risks may not all be needed at the same time by allowing for an adjustment for correlation in the calculation of the total provision.

Other non-economic risks are generally considered not significant compared to those identified in the Guide. As such, no specific margins with respect to these other risks are required.

Available financial support from the employer

Many comments were received on the determination of the available financial support from the employer. Above all, respondents consider that OSFI’s criteria should:

  • be simple;
  • be principle-based; and
  • reference available metrics.

Several submissions argued that OSFI should permit lower margins to be used where it is reasonable to expect that there would be available financial support from the employer after plan termination.

Respondents suggested that the Guide make clear that all private sector employers, and not only crown corporations, would be able to reduce solvency liabilities of their pension plan with demonstrated financial strength at the time of the valuation.

Some respondents suggested that the amount of available support be based on the credit rating of the employer determined by one of the recognized rating agencies operating in Canada

Other respondents proposed that the actuary should be able to rely on an attestation of financial health of the sponsor from the plan administrator.

OSFI agrees that the amount of available support be based on the risk profile of the employer. Such amount will not require an actuarial opinion, will be readily available and be consistent for all plans.

The adjustment to the provision for financial support from the employer was revised. Given the priority level of pension plan obligations when an employer is bankrupt or insolvent, the Guide was adjusted to determine the level of financial support of the employer based on the credit rating of subordinated debt.

Replicating portfolio assets

Some respondents asked OSFI to expand the possible universe of high-quality fixed income investments included in the replicating portfolio and to explicitly permit the use of private debt or similar private fixed income products that would meet an equivalent minimum credit rating.

OSFI has adjusted the Guide to clarify its expectations about the content and quality of the assets included in a replicating portfolio. The definition of “high-quality” remains unchanged.

Confidentiality

Some submissions mentioned that disclosure of information and assumptions related to economic models used to develop the replicating portfolio could contain proprietary information.

The Guide was not adjusted. Transparency and appropriate disclosure are part of good governance. Consistent with paragraph 3260.09 of the CIA Standards, OSFI expects actuaries to provide sufficient details in their actuarial reports to enable another actuary to assess the reasonableness of the data, assumptions and methods used.

Disclosure

The Draft Guide required an extensive list of disclosures which would be onerous for ongoing pension plans. Several respondents recommended that the actuary should have some latitude to adapt this list of disclosures to reflect differing model features.

These comments were addressed in the revised Guide issued in November 2020.

Révision de la section 2.7.4 du Guide d’instruction pour la production du rapport actuariel d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées – Version à l’étude

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 9 juillet 2021
  • Destinataires :  Actuaires et autres parties prenantes d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées agréé ou d’un régime en instance d’agrément en vertu de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a publié une version finale du Guide d’instructions pour la production du rapport actuariel d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées (le Guide) en novembre 2020 à la suite de consultations amorcées en décembre 2019. Le Guide a pour objet de rendre compte des exigences auxquelles doivent satisfaire les rapports actuariels que les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées, y compris ceux qui comportent un volet à cotisations déterminées, doivent produire auprès du BSIF. 

Presque tous les répondants ont formulé des commentaires au sujet de la section 2.7.4, Méthodes de règlement optionnelles, de la version à l’étude du Guide, qui énonce les attentes du BSIF à l’égard des régimes de retraite utilisant une approche fondée sur le portefeuille apparié. Compte tenu de l’ampleur des changements décrits dans la version à l’étude du Guide et des commentaires reçus, la consultation a amené le BSIF à reporter des changements importants à une date ultérieure. Seuls les changements requis pour préciser le texte précédent et les attentes du BSIF concernant les renseignements à fournir ont été apportés à la section 2.7.4 du Guide.

Un examen plus approfondi a été effectué depuis et des améliorations ont été formulées. Le tableau figurant à l’annexe 1 résume les commentaires reçus et la façon dont le BSIF leur a donné suite. Le BSIF tient à remercier tous les participants au processus de consultation.

Certains des commentaires reçus ont trait à la législation actuelle visant les régimes de retraite privés fédéraux (p. ex., les comptes de réserve de solvabilité), qui ne relève pas de la responsabilité du BSIF. Ces commentaires ont été transmis au ministère des Finances.

Les modifications apportées au Guide fournissent des attentes révisées à l’égard des régimes utilisant une approche de portefeuille apparié. La section 2.7.4 révisée du Guide est publiée sous forme de version à l’étude afin que les intervenants des régimes de retraite puissent commenter ces changements. Il est prévu que ces modifications s’appliquent aux rapports actuariels dont la date d’évaluation est le 31 décembre 2021 ou après.

Les questions et commentaires concernant ces changements peuvent être envoyés à Marc Sauvé, gestionnaire principal, Actuariat, Division des régimes de retraite privés, par courriel à marc.sauve@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, au plus tard le 10 septembre 2021.

Un sommaire des commentaires reçus au sujet de la version révisée de la section 2.7.4 du Guide, sans mention de leur auteur, et la réponse du BSIF seront affichés sur le site Web du BSIF lors de la parution de la version finale du Guide.

Cordialement,

Tamara DeMos
Directrice générale
Division des régimes de retraite privés

Annexe 1 : Sommaire des commentaires reçus et réponse du BSIF

ObjetCommentaireRéponse du BSIF
Méthodes de règlement optionnelles

Aux fins de l’évaluation de solvabilité, les consignes de l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) sur les méthodes de règlement optionnelles décrivent quatre méthodes de règlement optionnelles qui peuvent être envisagées :

  1. Achat d’une série de rentes sur une période de quelques années;

  2. Établissement d’un portefeuille apparié en fiducie pour payer les prestations de retraite sur une période plus longue;

  3. Paiements forfaitaires aux bénéficiaires du régime;

  4. Modification présumée des modalités de la promesse de prestations (p. ex., remplacement des prestations indexées aux augmentations de l’indice des prix à la consommation [IPC] par des augmentations à taux fixe).

Le BSIF n’autorise que les options 1 et 2, mais il devrait aussi envisager de permettre les options 3 et 4. Conformément aux consignes de l’ICA, l’actuaire peut envisager l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire réglementaire ou la modification de la loi pour permettre le règlement des prestations en vertu de l’une de ces méthodes optionnelles.

Les options 3 et 4 ne sont pas conformes à la législation en vigueur (voir la note de bas de page 94 du Guide).

L’hypothèse d’une modification de la loi, dont le ministère des Finances est responsable, ne serait pas conforme au mandat du BSIF d’appliquer la loi dans sa version en vigueur. De plus, l’objectif d’effectuer une évaluation de solvabilité fondée sur les dispositions du régime à la date d’évaluation ne serait pas atteint.

Risque de modélisation

Certains répondants ont signalé qu’il n’y aura pas de cohérence entre les régimes en passant à un modèle d’assurance vie comportant des seuils extrêmement élevés en raison des différences entre les modèles utilisés par les régimes de retraite.

Un répondant a suggéré que le BSIF s’engage à approuver des approches autres que celle décrite dans le Guide en prévision de la première évaluation actuarielle assujettie à la version révisée du Guide.

Le BSIF convient que le risque de modélisation pourrait entraîner des écarts importants dans les résultats d’un régime à l’autre si une approche commune n’est pas suivie pour valider et étalonner les modèles.

Le BSIF reconnaît que l’examen, la mise à l’essai et la communication de consignes sur la façon dont les risques extrêmes sont pris en compte et calculés devraient être cohérents d’un régime à l’autre. Tirer parti des méthodes existantes utilisées par les régimes de retraite et se fier aux consignes de l’ICA sur l’utilisation de modèles et de pratiques actuarielles reconnues pour la modélisation stochastique est jugé être suffisant pour s’assurer de cette cohérence.

Méthode de modélisation stochastique

On demande au BSIF d’expliquer ses préoccupations au sujet des approches actuellement utilisées et pourquoi l’utilisation de l’espérance conditionnelle unilatérale (ECU) et d’un modèle d’une période d’un an a plutôt été proposée dans la version à l’étude du Guide.

Quelques répondants ont fait valoir que le BSIF devrait autoriser d’autres modèles qui pourraient être mis au point à l’avenir si l’on peut démontrer qu’ils peuvent fournir le niveau ciblé de sécurité des prestations.

D’autres répondants sont d’avis que l’utilisation de modèles d’assurance vie ne convient pas aux régimes de retraite, notamment parce que la capitalisation excédentaire d’un régime de retraite est libérée à titre d’excédent bloqué, ce qui n’est pas le cas pour les assureurs, et parce que ces modèles sont trop complexes pour que les administrateurs et les bénéficiaires les comprennent.

L’objectif principal de l’actualisation des attentes du BSIF à l’égard de l’approche du portefeuille apparié est d’assurer une sécurité similaire des prestations dans l’ensemble des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées assujettis à la législation fédérale sur les régimes de retraite privés, en réglant notamment les questions suivantes :

  • l’équité avec les régimes qui ne peuvent pas utiliser un portefeuille apparié ou qui choisissent de ne pas le faire;
  • la cohérence de l’approche entre les régimes utilisant un portefeuille apparié, c.-à-d. la méthode de modélisation, la composition de l’actif du portefeuille et le niveau des marges pour les risques économiques et non économiques;
  • l’aisance de la surveillance.

À la lumière des commentaires reçus, le BSIF a conclu qu’il n’était peut-être pas pratique, pour atteindre les objectifs fixés, d’imposer l’utilisation d’une mesure de l’ECU et d’un modèle d’une période d’un an tenant compte des risques restants par la suite. Le Guide a été modifié pour s’harmoniser avec l’approche principalement utilisée par les régimes de retraite lorsque la modélisation stochastique est exécutée et pour comporter une mesure de la valeur à risque (VaR) pendant la période de liquidation du passif.

En outre, la section 2.7.4 révisée ne cherche plus à reproduire la façon dont un régime utilisant un portefeuille apparié serait financé après sa cessation (fréquence ou moment du dépôt du rapport actuariel, financement du déficit, utilisation de l’excédent, etc.). L’exigence de rajuster le soutien financier disponible de l’employeur en fonction du scénario de cessation a été supprimée. L’accent est mis sur la sécurité des prestations à la date d’évaluation, et non à une date d’évaluation future.

Niveau de confiance

De nombreux répondants à la consultation sur la version à l’étude du Guide conviennent que le niveau de sécurité des prestations selon l’approche du portefeuille apparié devrait être élevé, mais pas autant que la probabilité implicite de 99,5 %.

Le BSIF estime que le niveau de sécurité des prestations devrait être semblable d’un régime à l’autre. L’approche du portefeuille apparié ne doit pas être interprétée comme offrant une forme d’allègement partiel du financement du déficit de solvabilité à certains régimes de retraite.

Pour ce qui est de la parité avec les régimes assujettis au taux d’approximation des rentes, le point de départ demeure au niveau de 99,5 %, qui est le niveau de sécurité sous-jacent des prestations de retraite garanties par les sociétés d’assurance vie.

Marges pour risques économiques

Un certain nombre de suggestions ont été faites pour ajuster et clarifier l’approche utilisée pour déterminer les marges appropriées pour les risques économiques.

Compte tenu des commentaires reçus, le BSIF a modifié le Guide afin d’exiger que la provision pour écarts défavorables corresponde à un niveau de confiance selon lequel le régime sera entièrement capitalisé au cours de la période de liquidation des passifs allant de 85 % à 99,5 %, en fonction de la cote de crédit de l’employeur. Ces niveaux sont actuellement jugés raisonnables compte tenu des objectifs énoncés par le BSIF.

La modélisation stochastique nécessite la production d’un grand nombre de scénarios, proportionnellement au niveau de confiance à atteindre. Toutefois, la référence antérieure à 10 000 scénarios a été supprimée puisque celle-ci n’était pas une exigence explicite, mais plutôt une indication que certains niveaux de confiance pourraient demander un tel nombre de scénarios.

Marges pour risques non économiques

Certains répondants voulaient mieux comprendre comment la simulation de crise visant les hypothèses de meilleure estimation a été déterminée.

Quelques répondants ont demandé pourquoi la provision pour risques non économiques était répartie en fonction de la provision pour risques économiques. On a également suggéré d’éliminer la provision pour risques non économiques.

En ce qui concerne la mortalité plus précisément, on a noté que la plupart des régimes utilisant le portefeuille apparié sont suffisamment grands pour disposer de données crédibles (ou partiellement crédibles) pour ajuster les taux de mortalité de sorte que l’imposition d’une marge arbitraire n’est pas nécessaire. En ce qui concerne la longévité, on suggère de réduire la marge lorsqu’une table de base donnant lieu à des espérances de vie plus longues que celle de la table CPM2014 est utilisée.

S’agissant des dépenses du régime, on a fait valoir que des économies d’échelle pourraient être générées dans le contexte de scénarios défavorables et qu’une provision supplémentaire pour dépenses pourrait ne pas être nécessaire. On a aussi formulé un commentaire sur la petite taille de la provision si une marge pour dépenses supplémentaires résultant de la simulation de crise du niveau et de la tendance de mortalité était ajoutée.

En outre, un répondant a fait remarquer que le risque lié aux données est une composante du risque opérationnel non économique pour laquelle une provision peut être envisagée.

Les niveaux de simulation de crise pour les risques non économiques visent à concorder avec une VaR au niveau de confiance de 99,5 %, selon le jugement d’experts. Le Guide a été révisé pour permettre de réduire la provision en fonction de la cote de crédit de l’employeur. Une méthode simple de détermination de la provision pour risques non économiques était auparavant la seule permise. Le Guide a été clarifié pour indiquer que d’autres méthodes pourraient être utilisées.

Le Guide confirme déjà que les tables de mortalité et les échelles d’amélioration doivent respecter les normes et les consignes de l’ICA, ce qui laisse entendre en particulier que les grands régimes effectuent régulièrement des études de mortalité, ce qui procure un certain confort quant au niveau de l’hypothèse de meilleure estimation. Néanmoins, le BSIF estime qu’il subsiste une certaine incertitude, ce qui explique pourquoi une marge est incluse pour le niveau de mortalité. La marge pour la tendance de longévité demeure également inchangée pour tous les régimes puisque l’amélioration future de la mortalité est sujette à un niveau élevé d’incertitude et de discussion.

Même si les marges pour certains risques non économiques (les dépenses, p. ex.) peuvent être faibles, les risques connexes ne sont pas négligeables et le BSIF estime qu’une provision devrait quand même être calculée. Compte tenu des commentaires reçus, le BSIF a modifié le guide pour :

  • supprimer une partie des marges pour dépenses;
  • tenir compte des situations où les marges pour risques économiques et non économiques ne sont peut-être pas toutes nécessaires en même temps en permettant un ajustement de corrélation dans le calcul de la provision totale.

Les autres risques non économiques sont généralement considérés comme non significatifs comparativement à ceux mentionnés dans le Guide. Par conséquent, aucune marge particulière n’est requise relativement à ces autres risques.

Soutien financier disponible de l’employeur

De nombreux commentaires ont été formulés au sujet de la détermination du soutien financier disponible de la part de l’employeur. Avant tout, les répondants estiment que les critères du BSIF devraient :

  • être simples;
  • être fondés sur des principes;
  • renvoyer aux mesures disponibles.

Plusieurs ont fait valoir que le BSIF devrait permettre l’utilisation de marges moindres lorsqu’il est raisonnable de s’attendre à ce que l’employeur obtienne un soutien financier après la cessation du régime.

Des répondants ont suggéré que le Guide indique clairement que tous les employeurs du secteur privé, et pas seulement les sociétés d’État, pourraient réduire le passif de solvabilité de leur régime de retraite grâce à une solidité financière démontrée au moment de l’évaluation.

Certains répondants ont proposé que le montant du soutien disponible soit fondé sur la cote de crédit de l’employeur établie par l’une des agences de notation reconnues qui exercent des activités au Canada.

D’autres suggèrent que l’actuaire puisse se fier à une attestation de la santé financière du répondant fournie par l’administrateur du régime.

Le BSIF convient que le montant du soutien disponible dépend du profil de risque de l’employeur. Ce montant ne nécessitera pas d’opinion actuarielle, sera facilement disponible et sera cohérent pour tous les régimes.

L’ajustement de la provision pour soutien financier de l’employeur a été révisé. Compte tenu du niveau de priorité des obligations des régimes de retraite lorsqu’un employeur est en faillite ou insolvable, le Guide a été modifié pour déterminer le niveau de soutien financier de l’employeur en fonction de la cote de crédit des dettes subordonnées.

Actif du portefeuille apparié

Certains répondants ont demandé au BSIF d’élargir l’univers possible des placements à revenu fixe de bonne grande compris dans le portefeuille apparié et de permettre explicitement l’utilisation de titres d’emprunt privés ou de produits à revenu fixe privés similaires qui répondraient à une cote de crédit minimale équivalente.

Le BSIF a modifié le Guide pour clarifier ses attentes au sujet du contenu et de la qualité des actifs inclus dans un portefeuille apparié. La définition de « haute qualité » demeure inchangée.

Confidentialité

Certains intervenants mentionnent que l’information et les hypothèses à fournir au sujet des modèles économiques utilisés pour élaborer le portefeuille apparié pourraient contenir des renseignements exclusifs.

Le Guide n’a pas été ajusté.  La transparence et la communication appropriée de l’information font partie d’une solide gouvernance. Tel que prévu au paragraphe 3260.09 des Normes de l’ICA, le BSIF s’attend à ce que les actuaires fournissent dans leurs rapports actuariels suffisamment de détails pour qu’un autre actuaire puisse évaluer la vraisemblance des données, des hypothèses et des méthodes employées.

Informations à fournir

La version à l’étude du Guide renfermait une liste exhaustive de renseignements qu’il serait onéreux pour les régimes permanents de fournir. Plusieurs répondants ont recommandé que l’actuaire dispose d’une certaine latitude pour adapter cette liste afin de tenir compte des différentes caractéristiques du modèle.

Ces commentaires ont été abordés dans le Guide révisé publié en novembre 2020.