Notice: Domestic Stability Buffer technical briefing for financial analysts

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions will make its semi-annual Domestic Stability Buffer (DSB) level-setting announcement on June 23, 2020 at 8:00 a.m. (ET).

OSFI reviews and sets the level of the Domestic Stability Buffer on a semi-annual basis (June and December), based on its ongoing monitoring of federally regulated financial institutions as well as system-wide and sectoral developments.

OSFI may adjust the buffer in between scheduled review dates if circumstances require. For example, OSFI reduced the DSB on March 13, 2020 as part of its response to the COVID-19 situation, to support banks’ continued lending to consumers and businesses.

Following the DSB announcement, OSFI officials will be available to financial analysts by teleconference at 10:00 a.m. (ET) to respond to technical questions.

Financial analysts: click here to register for the teleconference. Registration closes at 4:00 p.m. (ET) on Monday, June 22.

We welcome questions in advance and will be answering them in the order received. Please send your questions to Questions@osfi-bsif.gc.ca by June 23 at 9:00 a.m. (ET). You will also have the opportunity to ask questions by phone during the briefing.

Media: Please contact media-medias@osfi-bsif.gc.ca to register for a separate media briefing.

Avis : La séance d’information technique sur la réserve pour stabilité intérieure s’adresse aux analystes financiers

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) annoncera le coefficient de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure le 23 juin 2020 à 8 h (HE).

Le BSIF révise le coefficient de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure deux fois l'an, en juin et en décembre, en fonction des résultats du contrôle continu des institutions financières fédérales et des conditions observées à l'échelle systémique et sectorielle.

Le BSIF peut ajuster la réserve entre les dates d’examen prévues si les circonstances l’exigent. Par exemple, le BSIF a abaissé la RSI le 13 mars 2020 dans le cadre de sa réponse à la COVID-19, afin d’aider les banques à continuer de prêter aux consommateurs et aux entreprises.

À la suite de l'annonce, les analystes financiers auront l'occasion de poser des questions techniques à des représentants du BSIF par téléconférence à 10 h (HE).

Les analystes financiers sont invités à cliquer ici pour s'inscrire à la téléconférence. La période d'inscription se terminera le lundi 22 juin à 16 h (HE).

Nous vous encourageons à nous soumettre vos questions d'avance, et nous y répondrons dans l'ordre où nous les auront reçues. Veuillez nous faire parvenir vos questions à Questions@osfi-bsif.gc.ca avant le 23 juin à 9 h (HE). À noter que les participants pourront aussi poser des questions par téléphone pendant la séance d'information.

Médias : Une séance d'information distincte est prévue à l'intention des représentants des médias. Veuillez vous inscrire par courriel à l'adresse media-medias@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.