Application and Approval Guides

Incorporation Guides

Continuance Guides

Transaction Instructions

The purpose of the Transaction Instructions is to provide applicants seeking regulatory approval under the Bank Act, the Trust and Loan Companies Act, the Insurance Companies Act and the Cooperative Credit Association Act with OSFI's information filing requirements, as well as administrative guidance, as appropriate, to facilitate the application process.

The information requirements are intended to satisfy the typical application of each type. They have been derived from OSFI's considerable experience in assessing applications. OSFI anticipates that applicants who provide all information and material requested can expect a more timely assessment of their applications. Additional information may be requested as appropriate to the circumstances. There are two Indexes of Transaction Instructions:

Insurance Companies Forms and Guides

Other Forms and Guides

User Fees / Service Charges

The Regulations Amending the Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002 (the Regulations) were registered and took effect on April 28, 2006, and are published in the May 17, 2006 issue of the Canada Gazette, Part II (SOR 2006/74). The Regulations reduce the number of service charges for services offered by OSFI from 52 to 14. The service charges that remain are those that are paid by non-federally regulated institutions such as new applicants, and those that are charged for rulings, interpretations, capital quality confirmations, and copies of corporate documents. The original Regulations and the amended Regulations can be found in the Canada Gazette Part II, Vol. 136, No. 21, SOR/2002-337 and the Canada Gazette Part II, Vol. 137, No. 18, SOR/2003-291 respectively.

Production et traitement d’une demande d’agrément

Guides de constitution en société

Guides de prorogation

Instructions relatives aux opérations

Le présent guide d'instruction a pour objet de communiquer aux personnes qui présentent des demandes d'agrément en vertu de la Loi sur les banques, de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, de la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances et de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit les exigences du BSIF en matière de présentation d'information et les directives administratives, le cas échéant, pour faciliter le processus de demande.

Les exigences en matière d'information visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types et ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l'évaluation des demandes. Le BSIF prévoit que les demandeurs qui auront fourni toute l'information et tous les documents nécessaires pourront s'attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Il y a deux indexes d'instructions relatives aux opérations :

Formulaires et guides relatifs aux sociétés d'assurances

Autres formulaires et guides

Frais d'utilisation / Frais de service

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (le Règlement) a été enregistré et est entré en vigueur le 28 avril dernier et est publié dans le numéro du 17 mai 2006 (DORS 2006/74) de la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Le Règlement fait passer de 52 à 14 le nombre de droits à payer pour les services offerts par le BSIF. Les droits de service qui sont conservés sont ceux que doivent acquitter des institutions autres que des institutions financières fédérales, par exemple les nouvelles institutions, et ceux qui sont perçus au titre de décisions, d'interprétations, de confirmations de la qualité des fonds propres et de la fourniture de documents sur les institutions financières. Les versions originale et modifiée de ce règlement se trouvent dans la  Gazette du Canada, partie II, vol. 136, no 21, DORS/2002-337, et partie II, vol. 137, no 18, DORS/2003-291 respectivement.