EXTENSION OF HOLDING PERIOD FOR A TEMPORARY INVESTMENT

Document Properties

  • Publication Type: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: May 2009
  • Index DA No: 15
  • Category: Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. proposed extension period (see Administrative Guidance below);

  2. where the proposed extension period is finite, details of the temporary investment, including date and rationale for the original acquisition, list of majority shareholders, nature of business activities of the entity, most recent financial statements of the entity, rationale for requesting the extension and the plan for divestiture;

  3. where the application is for a further finite extension period, details of all actions that were taken to dispose of the investment, the reason why the plan for divestiture did not work out and a revised plan for divestiture; and

  4. where the proposed extension period is indeterminate, the information requirements to be provided are set out in the document Substantial Investment DA No. 13, that is also part of this Index.

Administrative Guidance

  1. The extension period must be of finite duration for an investment in an entity that does not qualify as a permitted investment. A request for a finite extension period should be made under one of the following subsections as appropriate and will be subject to such terms and conditions as the Superintendent considers necessary:

    1. subsections 471(1) or 933(1) of the BA, 456(1) of the TLCA, 498(1), 557(1) or 974(1) of the ICA, and 393(1) of the CCAA are for use in instances where it is known prior to acquisition that the temporary investment will be held for a finite period in excess of two years;

    2. subsections 471(2) of the BA, 456(2) of the TLCA, 498(2) or 557(2) of the ICA, and 393(2) of the CCAA are transitional provisions for use in instances where a Federally Regulated Entity (FRE) that existed before June 1, 1992 and had a substantial investment in an entity on September 27, 1990, wishes to increase that substantial investment by way of a temporary investment that is to be held for a finite period in excess of two years; and

    3. subsections 471(3) or 933(2) of the BA, 456(3) of the TLCA, 498(3), 557(3) or 974(2) of the ICA and 393(3) of the CCAA are for use in instances where an FRE wishes to extend the holding period of an existing temporary investment for a finite period in excess of two years or for a further finite period beyond that specified by the Superintendent at the time the acquisition was made.

  2. The extension period may be of an indeterminate duration, where an FRE wishes to extend the holding period of an existing temporary investment in an entity that would have qualified as a permitted investment if the FRE had, prior to acquisition, obtained the approval of the Superintendent. A request for an indeterminate extension period should be made under one of the following subsections as appropriate and will be subject to such terms and conditions as the Superintendent considers necessary:

    1. subsections 471(5) or 933(4) of the BA, 456(5) of the TLCA, 498(5) or 974(4) of the ICA, and 393(5) of the CCAA.

  3. FREs should note that none of the legislative authorities set out above can be used to extend the holding period of control of, or substantial investment in, an entity requiring the approval of the Minister. Within 90 days of acquiring such an investment by way of a temporary investment, the FRE must either dispose of the investment or obtain the Minister’s consent to hold the investment for a longer period of up to an indeterminate duration under subsections 471(4) or 933(3) of the BA, 456(4) of the TLCA, 498(4), 557(4) or 974(3) of the ICA, and 393(4) of the CCAA. For additional guidance, please refer to Index A No. 18.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

PROLONGATION DE LA PÉRIODE DE DÉTENTION D’UN PLACEMENT PROVISOIRE

Propriétés du Document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : mai 2009
  • Index PA No : 15
  • Catégorie : Présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit :

  1. préciser la durée de la prolongation proposée (voir sous « Directives administratives »);

  2. fournir, si la période de prolongation est déterminée, des détails au sujet du placement provisoire, y compris la date et les motifs de l’acquisition initiale, la liste des actionnaires majoritaires, la nature de l’activité de l’entité, les plus récents états financiers de cette dernière, les motifs de la demande de prolongation, et le plan d’aliénation;

  3. fournir, s’il s’agit d’obtenir une nouvelle période de prolongation déterminée, des détails au sujet de toutes les mesures prises afin de disposer du placement, des motifs de l’échec du plan d’aliénation, ainsi qu’un plan d’aliénation révisé;

  4. fournir, si la période de prolongation est indéterminée, les renseignements à fournir d’après le document PA n°13, Intérêt de groupe financier, qui fait également partie de cet index.

Directives administratives

  1. La durée de la période de prolongation doit être déterminée si un placement dans une entité ne constitue pas un placement admissible. Une période de prolongation déterminée doit être demandée aux termes de l’un des paragraphes suivants, selon le cas, et sera assujetti aux modalités et conditions que le surintendant juge indiquées :

    1. les paragraphes 471(1) ou 933(1) de la LBA, 456(1) de la LSFP, 498(1), 557(1) ou 974(1) de la LSA, et 393(1) de la LACC s’appliquent si l’on sait, avant l’acquisition, que le placement provisoire sera conservé pour une période déterminée de plus de deux ans;

    2. les paragraphes 471(2) de la LBA, 456(2) de la LSFP, 498(2) ou 557(2) de la LSA et 393(2) de la LACC sont des dispositions transitoires qui s’appliquent lorsqu’une entité fédérale (EF) qui existait avant le 1er juin 1992 et qui détenait un intérêt de groupe financier dans une entité le 27 septembre 1990 souhaite augmenter cet intérêt de groupe financier par le biais d’un placement provisoire qui doit être détenu pour une période déterminée de plus de deux ans;

    3. les paragraphes 471(3) ou 933(2) de la LBA, 456(3) de la LSFP, 498(3), 557(3) ou 974(2) de la LSA et 393(3) de la LACC s’appliquent lorsqu’une EF souhaite prolonger, d’une période déterminée de plus de deux ans ou d’une nouvelle période déterminée au-delà de celle précisée par le surintendant au moment de l’acquisition, la période de détention d’un placement provisoire.

  2. La période de prolongation peut être de durée indéterminée si une EF souhaite prolonger la période de détention d’un placement provisoire existant dans une entité qui aurait constitué un placement admissible si l’EF avait obtenu l’accord du surintendant avant l’acquisition. Une période de prolongation indéterminée doit être demandée aux termes de l’un des paragraphes suivants, selon le cas, et sera assujetti aux modalités et conditions que le surintendant juge indiquées :

    1. les paragraphes 471(5) ou 933(4) de la LBA, 456(5) de la LSFP, 498(5) ou 974(4) de la LSA, et 393(5) de la LACC.

  3. Les EF doivent noter qu’aucune des dispositions législatives qui précèdent ne peut être invoquée afin de prolonger la période de détention du contrôle ou d’un intérêt de groupe financier dans une entité nécessitant l’agrément du ministre. Dans les 90 jours suivant une telle acquisition sous la forme d’un placement provisoire, l’ER doit disposer du placement ou obtenir le consentement du ministre pour le conserver pendant une période plus longue, laquelle peut être indéterminée, en vertu des paragraphes 471(4) et 933(3) de la LBA, 456(4) de la LSFP, 498(4), 557(4) et 974(3) de la LSA et 393(4) de la LACC. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter l’Index A N° 18.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les consignes administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles reflètent la vaste expérience du BSIF en matière de traitement des demandes. Les requérants qui fournissent tous les renseignements et documents demandés peuvent généralement s’attendre à ce que leur requête soit étudiée plus rapidement. Compte tenu des circonstances, le BSIF peut demander un complément d’information, tenir compte d’autres éléments, imposer des modalités ou exiger des engagements.