Draft Key Metrics Report – P&C insurers

Instructions

All federally regulated insurance companies (insurer) are required to complete a Key Metrics Report (KMR). The KMR form is to be submitted to OSFI at least annually and within 30 days of the Own Risk and Solvency Assessment (ORSA) report being reviewed by the insurer’s Board of Directors or signed off by its Chief Agent. The following instructions are provided to assist in completing the KMR:

General Instructions
KMR Template

The template should not be modified by the insurer. Insurer input should be made only to the white cells in the template. Shaded cells are not applicable or contain embedded formulas that should not be adjusted.

Insurers who wish to include an alternative presentation should do so within their ORSA report or submit an additional schedule to their OSFI Lead Supervisor in addition to the standard KMR.

Name of insurer and date of ORSA report reviewed by the insurer’s Board of Directors or signed off by its Chief Agent should be entered in the respective yellow boxes at the top of the KMR.

Column 03 Instructions
General

The amounts reported as “Regulatory Capital (Margin)” should be those calculated per the MCT (BAAT).
Regulatory Capital (Margin) under the MCT (BAAT) is calculated at the Supervisory Target level and should be reported in this way on column 03, lines 01 through 04 and line 19. The Regulatory Capital (Margin) at Target level is adjusted to the MCT (BAAT) Minimum capital (margin) required on line 05 by an embedded formula.

Line 05 :
MCT (BAAT) Minimum capital (margin) required  (A)

This line is calculated by an embedded formula. It represents the insurer’s regulatory MCT (BAAT) “Minimum capital (margin) required”. Refer to the MCT (BAAT) guideline for the detailed calculation approach.
Columns 04 & 06 Instructions
For all applicable Lines These lines are calculated by an embedded formula, where applicable. These two columns represent the percentages of the amount of each applicable line in relation to the amount reported as regulatory capital (margin) on line 05 (A).
Column 05 Instructions
General

The risk categories (e.g. Insurance, Market, Credit, Operational, Other) and amounts reported as an insurer’s “ORSA Capital (Margin)” should reflect those determined as part of the insurer’s ORSA process.

An insurer’s allocation of the various components calculations of its Own Capital (Margin) Needs should be consistent with the components of MCT (BAAT) “Minimum capital (margin) required” with explanations and details provided.

Lines 06 – 17: 
Other ORSA Risks
(write in)

Describe and include amounts for other risks not explicitly specified in the MCT (BAAT) guideline (e.g. concentration risk) but assessed as part of the ORSA. (These should therefore not be included in any lines under Column 03 vis-à-vis Regulatory Capital (Margin)).

Line 18:
ORSA Adjustments – Other

Include amounts for elements that relate to an adjustment to a number of own risks or to a specific own risk not identified /included on a particular line (e.g. model risk, data quality/quantity or for management tolerances, if not quantified elsewhere).

Line 19: 
Adjustments – Aggregation / Diversification

Include amounts for between-risk diversification benefits (i.e. within-risk diversification should be reflected on that individual risk line), net of any dependencies creating, in aggregate, capital (margin) needs that are greater than the sum of the individual risk assessments.

Line 20:
ORSA Adjustments - Extremely Severe Scenarios

May be necessary when sophisticated scenario testing tools uncover dependencies between risks that had not been measured by individual risk assessment, or when it is determined that some plausible but extremely severe scenarios, in aggregate, amount to capital (margin) needs greater than the sum of the individual risk assessments.

Line 21:
ORSA Own Capital (Margin) Needs

This line is calculated by an embedded formula and reflects the insurer’s assessment of “Own Capital (Margin) Needs” for all risks.

Line 22:
ORSA Adjustments – Other
Once an insurer has determined "Own Capital (Margin) Needs" (i.e.: line 20 above), other adjustments may be required to account for external or third party margin expectations, notably OSFI expectations including that the "Internal Target" (line 24) should not be less than the MCT (BAAT) Supervisory “Target capital (margin) required”.

Line 23: 
ORSA Adjustments – Varying Nature & Severity Scenarios

In addition to the “Adjustments – Other” (i.e. line 22 above), an insurer may include additional adjustments based on scenarios of varying nature and severity to assess the adequacy of the margin between the amount of its “Own Capital (Margin) Needs” and external expectations (e.g. OSFI’s Supervisory Target).

Line 24:
Internal Target

This line is calculated by an embedded formula. This should be the same as the Internal Target identified in the insurer’s Capital Management Policy and disclosed to OSFI. This amount should not be less than OSFI’s Supervisory Target. As outlined in Guideline A-4: Regulatory Capital and Internal Targets, the Internal Target should be determined through the ORSA process.
Column 07 and Reconciliation of Capital (Margin) Available Instructions
Column 07 - Methodology and References Should identify the methods used in the ORSA process and include references to the sections of the ORSA report that provide a description of how the risk or element was quantified.
Reconciliation of Capital (Margin) Available If regulatory “Total capital available (Net assets available)” differs from that used for ORSA purposes (e.g. foreign branch’s non-vested assets), insurers should provide details on any “ORSA Total capital available (Net Assets Available)” reconciling items.
The following should be documented and included within the ORSA report or supporting materials:

A summary calculation and explanation of the between-risks aggregation /diversification adjustment methodology and results (line 19) should be documented and included within the ORSA report or supporting materials.

To determine if the Internal Target is above OSFI’s Supervisory Target, compare the dollar ($) amount of the:

  • “Internal Target” (column 05 line 24) to
  • “Target capital (margin) required (column 03 line 21).

Rapport sur les principaux paramètres d’évaluation – Sociétés d’assurances multirisques

Instructions

Toutes les sociétés d’assurances fédérales (assureurs) doivent remplir un formulaire de rapport sur les principaux paramètres d’évaluation (RPPE). Le RPPE doit être soumis au BSIF au moins une fois l’an et dans les 30 jours suivant l’examen du rapport ORSA par le conseil d’administration de l’assureur ou sa signature par son agent principal. Les instructions qui suivent aideront à préparer le RPPE.

 Instructions générales
Tableau du RPPE

Le tableau ne doit pas être modifié. L’assureur ne doit remplir que les cellules en blanc du tableau. Les cellules ombragées ne s’appliquent pas ou renferment des formules imbriquées qui ne doivent pas être ajustées.

Les assureurs qui souhaitent ajouter une présentation adaptée peuvent l’inclure dans leur rapport ORSA ou envoyer une annexe supplémentaire à leur chargé de surveillance du BSIF, en plus du RPPE standard.

Il faut inscrire dans les cellules jaunes appropriées au haut du formulaire le nom de l’assureur et la date du rapport ORSA examiné par le conseil d’administration de l’assureur ou signé par son agent principal.

Colonne 02 Instructions
Généralités Les montants déclarés au titre de capital réglementaire (marge) doivent être ceux calculés selon le TCM (TSAS). Le capital réglementaire (marge) selon le TCM est calculé d’après la cible de surveillance et doit être déclaré ainsi aux lignes 01 à 04 et 19, colonne 02. Le capital réglementaire (marge) d’après la cible de surveillance est ramené au capital minimal requis (marge) selon le TCM à la ligne 05 au moyen d’une formule imbriquée.

Ligne 05 :
Capital minimal (marge) requis(e) du TCM (A)

Le montant indiqué à cette ligne est établi au moyen d’une  formule imbriquée. Il représente le capital (la marge) réglementaire requis(e) minimal(e) de l’assureur selon le TCM. Consulter la ligne directrice sur le TCM pour obtenir des précisions au sujet du calcul.
Colonnes 03 et 05 Instructions
Toutes les lignes applicables Les montants indiqués à ces lignes sont établis au moyen d’une formule imbriquée, le cas échéant. Ces deux colonnes correspondent au pourcentage du montant de chaque ligne applicable par rapport au montant de capital réglementaire (marge) indiqué à la ligne 05 (A).
Colonne 04 Instructions
Généralités

Les catégories de risque (p. ex., assurance, marché, crédit, opérationnel, autres) et les montants déclarés à titre de capital (marge) ORSA de l’assureur doivent correspondre à celles déterminées dans le cadre du dispositif ORSA de l’assureur.

La répartition des divers calculs des besoins de capital (marge) de l’assureur doit être conforme aux composantes du capital minimal requis (marge) selon le TCM et s’accompagner d’explications et de détails.

Lignes 06 – 17 : 
Autres risques ORSA (préciser)

Décrire et inclure les montants au titre des autres risques non explicitement spécifiés dans la ligne directrice sur le TCM (le risque de concentration, p. ex.) mais qui sont calculés dans le cadre du dispositif ORSA. (Ces montants ne doivent donc pas être inclus aux lignes de la colonne 02 au regard du capital (de la marge) réglementaire).

Ligne 18 :
Ajustements ORSA – Autres

Inclure les montants pour les éléments qui se rapportent à un ajustement d’un certain nombre de risques ou à un risque spécifique de l’assureur qui ne figurent dans aucune autre ligne (risque de modélisation, qualité/quantité des données et tolérances de gestion, p. ex., si non quantifiés ailleurs).

Ligne 19 : 
Ajustements – Agrégation / Diversification

Inclure les montants pour les avantages de la diversification inter-risque (la diversification intra-risque devrait figurer sur la ligne correspondant au risque en question), déduction faite de toute dépendance créant, tout compte fait, des besoins de capital (marge) supérieurs à la somme des évaluations des différents risques.

Ligne 20 :
Ajustements ORSA – Scénarios extrêmement sévères

Peut être nécessaire lorsque des outils de simulation complexes mettent au jour des dépendances entre les risques qui n’avaient pas été mesurées par l’évaluation individuelle des risques, ou lorsqu’on détermine que la somme de scénarios vraisemblables mais extrêmement sévères représente des besoins en capital (marge) supérieurs à la somme des évaluations des différents risques.

Ligne 21 :
Besoins en capital (marge) ORSA

Cette ligne est calculée à l’aide d’une formule imbriquée; elle traduit les besoins en capital (marge) évalués par l’assureur pour tous les risques, dans le cadre du dispositif ORSA.

Ligne 22 :
Ajustements ORSA – Autres

L’assureur ayant déterminé ses besoins en capital (marge) (c.-à-d. la ligne 21 ci-dessus), d’autres ajustements peuvent être nécessaires pour tenir compte d’attentes de marge externes ou de tiers, notamment les attentes du BSIF, y compris celle voulant que la cible interne (ligne 24) ne doit pas être inférieure à la cible de capital (marge requise) du TCM.

Ligne 23 : 
Ajustements ORSA – Scénarios de nature et de sévérité variables

Outre les « Ajustements ORSA – Autres » (c.-à-d. la ligne 22 ci-dessus), un assureur peut inclure d’autres ajustements fondés sur des scénarios de nature et de sévérité variables pour évaluer la suffisance de la marge entre le montant de ses besoins de capital (marge) et les attentes externes (p. ex., la cible de surveillance du BSIF).

Ligne 24 :
Cible interne

Le montant indiqué à cette ligne est établi au moyen d’une formule imbriquée. Il doit correspondre au montant de la cible interne indiqué dans la politique de gestion du capital de l’assureur et déclaré au BSIF. Il ne doit pas être inférieur à la cible de surveillance du BSIF. Comme l’indique la ligne directrice A-4, Capital réglementaire et cibles internes, la cible interne doit être déterminée au moyen du dispositif ORSA.
Colonne 06 et Rapprochement des ressources en capital (de l’actif net disponible) Instructions
Colonne 06 – Méthodes et renvois Indiquer les méthodes utilisées dans le dispositif ORSA et inclure des renvois aux sections du rapport ORSA qui décrivent la façon dont les risques ou les éléments ont été quantifiés.
Rapprochement des ressources en capital (de l’actif net disponible) Si les « Ressources en capital (actif net disponible) » réglementaires diffèrent de celles utilisées aux fins du dispositif ORSA (p. ex., les actifs non placés en fiducie de la succursale étrangère), l’assureur doit fournir des détails sur tout poste de rapprochement des « ressources en capital (actif net disponible) ORSA ».
Le rapport ORSA ou les documents connexes doivent inclure :

Un calcul sommaire avec justification de la méthodologie d’ajustement pour agrégation/diversification inter-risque et des résultats (ligne 19) doit être documenté et inclus dans le rapport ORSA ou les documents connexes.

Pour déterminer si la cible interne dépasse la cible de surveillance du BSIF, il faut comparer les deux montants (en dollars) suivants :

  • « Cible interne » (ligne 24, colonne 04);
  • « Cible de capital (marge) requis(e) du TCM » (ligne 21, colonne 02).