Unlocking funds from a pension plan or from a locked-in retirement savings plan

  1. What is a locked-in retirement saving plan?

    Federally regulated locked-in retirement saving plans include a life income fund, a restricted life income fund, a restricted locked-in savings plan and a locked-in registered retirement savings plan, and can hold funds originating from a federally regulated pension plan. The different types of locked-in retirement savings plans are defined in OSFI’s glossary that can be found on our website.

  2. What unlocking options are available, how much can be unlocked, and what forms are required?

    The unlocking options available from a locked-in retirement savings plan or a pension plan, and the conditions that must be met to take advantage of them, are set out in sections 20, 20.1, 20.2, 20.3 and 28.4 of the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (PBSR).

    Please note that not all unlocking options are available from a pension plan or from every locked-in retirement savings plan.  The chart below provides a general description of the unlocking options, from where they are available, and a link to the forms that must be completed. A number of the unlocking provisions refer to the “Year’s Maximum Pensionable Earnings” (YMPE) in determining whether funds can be unlocked and/or the amounts that can be unlocked. The YMPE is a dollar amount that is the maximum pensionable earnings under the Canada Pension Plan and changes annually based on a legislated formula. The YMPE for 2018 is $55,900.

    Unlocking Options Available From Unlocking Amount ($) Required Form(s)

    Financial hardship:

    If a person is:

    1. experiencing financial difficulties because of low income; or,
    2. high medical or disability-related costs relative to income;

    a certain amount may be withdrawn from a locked-in account.

    The funds may be withdrawn as cash, or transferred to a tax-deferred savings vehicle such as a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) or a registered retirement income fund (RRIF), subject to any applicable income tax rules.

    • locked-in RRSP
    • life income fund (LIF)
    • restricted LIF (RLIF)
    • restricted locked-in savings plan (RLSP)
    1. Low Income

      The maximum amount that can be unlocked depends on the person’s expected income for the year – the withdrawal amount varies from 50% of the YMPE (or $27,950 in 2018) for $0 expected income to $0 when expected income is 75% or higher of the YMPE (or $41,925 for 2018)

    2. High Medical or Disability-Related Expenditures

      Depending on expected medical or disability-related expenditures, can unlock up to a maximum of 50% of the YMPE (or $27,950 in 2018) can be unlocked.

    The 2018 YMPE is $55,900. 

    Form 1 and Instructions: Attestation Regarding Withdrawal Based on Financial Hardship

    Form 2: Attestation Regarding Spouse/Common-Law Partner

    Non-residency:

    If the following criteria are met, then a person’s pension may be withdrawn in cash or transferred to a tax-deferred savings vehicle such as an RRSP or a RRIF subject to any applicable income tax rules:

    • the person has ceased to be a resident of Canada for at least 2 calendar years (the person is considered to be a resident of Canada in a calendar year if he or she has lived in Canada for 183 days or more in that year) and

    • if the pension benefit is in a pension plan, the person has ceased employment with the sponsor of that pension plan.
    • locked-in RRSP
    • LIF
    • RLIF
    • RLSP
    • pension plan*
    * If the pension funds are in a pension plan, the plan administrator may release the funds but is not required to do so.

    The total value of the pension benefit or locked-in account balance

    No prescribed form required

    Shortened life expectancy:

    If a person has a shortened life expectancy (as certified by a physician) due to a physical or mental condition, the funds may be withdrawn in cash or transferred to a tax-deferred savings vehicle such as an RRSP or an RRIF subject to any applicable income tax rules.

    • locked-in RRSP
    • LIF
    • RLIF
    • RLSP
    • pension plan*

    * If the funds are in a pension plan, the pension plan may provide a payment or a series of payments in lieu of a pension benefit, but is not required to do so. This option is not available if a person has already commenced their pension.

     

    The total value of the person’s pension benefit or locked-in account balance

    No prescribed form required

    Small pension benefit unlocking from a pension plan:

    If a person has ceased membership in a pension plan and the value of their pension benefit is less than 20% of the YMPE for the calendar year in which their membership ceased, then the plan administrator can choose to pay out this amount in a lump sum.  

    The funds may be paid in cash or transferred to a tax-deferred savings vehicle such as an RRSP or an RRIF subject to any applicable income tax rules.

    • pension plan

    The total value of the person’s pension benefit

    No prescribed form

    Terminating member would receive a termination statement from the plan administrator

    Age 55 and over - One-time 50% unlocking:

    If a person:

    1. will be 55 years of age or older within the calendar year; and,
    2. exercises the option within 60 days of when the funds are initially deposited in the RLIF;

    they may transfer 50% of the funds in their RLIF into an RRSP or an RRIF. Cash can then be withdrawn, from either of these vehicles, subject to any applicable income tax rules. The funds cannot be taken directly in cash from an RLIF.

    • RLIF

    Up to 50% of the total value of the locked-in account balance

    Form 2: Attestation Regarding Spouse/Common-Law Partner

    Age 55 and over - Small account balance unlocking

    If:

    1. a person will be 55 years of age or older within the calendar year; and,
    2. the total value of all of assets in all of their locked-in RRSPs, restricted locked-in RRSPs, LIFs, and RLIFs are less than or equal to 50% of the YMPE (50% of $55,900 which is $27,950 for 2018);

    the funds may be withdrawn as cash, or transferred to a tax-deferred savings vehicle, such as an RRSP or an RRIF subject to any applicable income tax rules.

    • locked-in RRSP
    • LIF
    • RLIF
    • RLSP

    Total value of the locked-in account balances. 

    Form 2: Attestation Regarding Spouse/Common-Law Partner

    Form 3: Attestation of Total Amount Held in Federally Regulated Locked-in Plans

  3. Where can the forms required to unlock funds be obtained?

    The necessary forms can be obtained from the financial institution that holds the locked-in retirement savings plan contract. Generic versions of the forms are available on OSFI’s website in Word or PDF format and the specific links are provided in the chart in question 2 above. Any other forms required by a financial institution would be supplied by them.

  4. What are the responsibilities of the financial institution or advisor to verify the accuracy of an individual’s certifications?

    The Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 do not require that financial institutions or advisors verify the figures provided by a client.

    The role of the notary public, commissioner, or other person authorized to take affidavits is to verify and witness the individual's signature, not to verify the contents of what the individual is certifying to be true.

  5. Do the unlocking options affect the pensions of those who were or are employed by the Government of Canada?

    The federal government’s public service pension plan is governed by the Public Service Superannuation Act (PSSA), not the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (PBSA). The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat is responsible for matters relating to pensions for federal government employees. Questions regarding benefits payable under this plan should be directed to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. Their toll-free number is 1-800-561-7930.

    The PSSA provides that funds can be transferred from the public service pension plan to a locked-in RRSP, a life income fund, or a restricted life income fund so the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (PBSR) provisions regarding these types of vehicles will apply to any funds transferred from the public service pension plan to these vehicles. 

  6. Can the unlocking options be combined? Can two options be used in the same calendar year?

    Yes, as long as all the conditions for unlocking under the relevant option(s) are met. For example, if after using the one-time 50% unlocking option, the amount left in the Restricted Life Income Fund meets the small balance requirements, then that option can be used, either in the same year or in any subsequent year.

  7. Is the maximum annual income withdrawal from a life income fund (LIF) or a restricted life income fund (RLIF) separate and in addition to the unlocking options?

    Yes. The maximum annual amount that may be withdrawn from a LIF or an RLIF is separate from, and in addition to, any unlocking that is done under the one-time 50%, small account balance or financial hardship options. However, funds withdrawn from a LIF or an RLIF must be included in your expected income in a calendar year under the financial hardship unlocking formula.

  8. Are the interests of spouses or common-law partners protected when pension funds are unlocked?

    If a person who has a spouse or common-law partner, wishes to unlock funds under financial hardship, one-time 50% or small account balance unlocking, then the spouse or common-law partner must sign Form 2: Attestation Regarding Spouse/Common-Law Partner that attests that they consent to the unlocking (see also questions 2 and 11 regarding this form).

    If a person does not have a spouse or common-law partner, then they must attest to this on the same form.

    If a person wishes to unlock funds under shortened life or non-residency unlocking, spousal consent is not required under the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 or the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985; however, a financial institution may request a form of spousal consent as part of its administrative procedures.

  9. What is an attestation?

    An attestation means that the person making the attestation is certifying that to the best of their knowledge, the information in the form they are signing is true and accurate. All attestations must be made before a notary public, commissioner, or other person authorized to take sworn affidavits.

  10. If a person lives outside of Canada, do they have to make the attestation in front of a Canadian notary public, commissioner or other person authorized to take sworn affidavits?

    No. An attestation may be made outside of Canada as long as it is made before a qualified person (i.e. a notary public, commissioner or other person authorized to take sworn affidavits) in the person’s country of residence.

  11. Does a spouse or common-law partner have to make their attestation at the same time as the person withdrawing the funds? Do the attestations have to be made in front of the same person?

    No. A spouse or common-law partner does not have to make their attestation at the same time that the fund holder makes their attestation and the attestations do not have to be made before the same qualified person (i.e. a notary public, commissioner or other person authorized to take sworn affidavits).

  12. What if the spouse or common-law partner cannot be located to sign the form?

    If someone has a spouse or common law partner, their consent is required before the funds can be unlocked under financial hardship, one-time 50% or small account balance unlocking. The spouse or common law partner’s consent is provided by completing Form 2 of Schedule V of the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (Form 2).

    If someone is no longer living with their former common-law partner, then no consent is required from them because that person is no longer considered a common-law partner under the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985

    If someone does not have a common-law partner, but has a spouse from whom they have separated but not divorced, that person is still considered to be the spouse and their consent is required unless a court order or agreement that provides for the distribution of property clearly and unambiguously provides that the spouse no longer has a right to a share of the funds that the person is seeking to unlock. Such a court order or agreement should be noted and attached to Form 2. In a case where no such court order or agreement exists and the spouse cannot be located, legal advice should be sought to determine the options available.

  13. If a person transferred funds from a federal locked-in registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) into a life income fund (LIF), can the funds be moved back into a locked-in registered retirement savings plan?

    If the fund holder has not reached age 71, he or she may transfer the funds in the LIF back into a locked-in RRSP. Age 71 is the maximum age set by the Income Tax Act. For information about RRSP options at age 71, please refer to the Canada Revenue Agency’s website.

  14. If a person wishes to unlock funds due to high medical or disability-related expenditures and they reside outside of Canada, do the unlocking forms have to be signed by a Canadian physician?

    No, the required forms do not need to be signed by a Canadian physician. The person may wish to review whether funds can be unlocked because the person has met the non-residency conditions described in the table in question 2.

Déblocage des fonds d’un régime de retraite ou d’un régime d’épargne retraite immobilisé

  1. Qu’est-ce qu’un régime d’épargne-retraite immobilisé?

    Les régimes d’épargne‑retraite immobilisés fédéraux comprennent un fonds de revenu viager, un fonds de revenu viager restreint, un régime d’épargne immobilisé restreint et un régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite immobilisé, et ils peuvent détenir des fonds provenant d’un régime de retraite fédéral. Les différents types de régimes d’épargne-retraite immobilisés sont définis dans le glossaire du BSIF qui se trouve sur notre site Web.

  2. Quelles options de déblocage sont offertes, quel montant peut être débloqué et quels formulaires sont requis?

    Les options de déblocage offertes à partir d’un régime d’épargne-retraite immobilisé ou d’un régime de retraite, ainsi que les conditions qui doivent être réunies pour en tirer profit, sont énoncées aux articles 20, 20.1, 20.2, 20.3 et 28.4 du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (RNPP).

    Veuillez noter que les options de déblocage ne sont pas toutes offertes dans un régime de retraite ou dans chaque régime d’épargne-retraite immobilisé. Le tableau ci‑dessous donne une description générale des options de déblocage, leur provenance et un lien vers les formules qui doivent être remplies. Certaines dispositions de déblocage invoquent le « maximum des gains annuels ouvrant droit à pension » (MGAP) pour préciser si les fonds peuvent être débloqués et/ou déterminer les montants pouvant être débloqués. Le MGAP est un montant en dollars qui correspond au maximum des gains ouvrant droit à pension en vertu du Régime de pensions du Canada et qui varie d’une année à l’autre selon une formule prévue par la loi. Pour 2017, le MGAP est fixé à 55 300 $.

    Options de déblocage Provenance Montant du déblocage ($) Formule(s) requise(s)

    Difficultés financières :

    Si une personne :

    1. éprouve des difficultés financières à cause d’un faible revenu;
    2. a des frais médicaux d’invalidité élevés par rapport à son revenu;

    un certain montant peut être retiré d’un compte immobilisé.

    Les fonds peuvent être retirés en espèces ou transférés à un mécanisme d’épargne à impôt différé, comme un régime enregistré d’épargne‑retraite (REÉR) ou un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR), sous réserve des règles applicables en matière d’impôt sur le revenu.

    • REÉR immobilisé
    • fonds de revenu viager (FRV)
    • fonds de revenu viager restreint (FRVR)
    • régime d’épargne immobilisé restreint (REIR)
    1. Revenu faible

      Le montant maximal qui peut être débloqué dépend du revenu prévu de la personne pour l’année – le montant de retrait varie de 50 % du MGAP (ou 27 950 $ en 2018) pour un revenu prévu de 0 $ à 0 $ lorsque le revenu prévu est de 75 % ou plus du MGAP (41 925 $ pour 2018)

    2. Frais médicaux et d’invalidité élevés

      Selon les frais médicaux ou d’invalidité prévus, il est possible de débloquer jusqu’à 50 % du MGAP (ou 27 950 $ en 2018).

    En 2018, le MGAP est fixé à 55 900 $.

    Formule 1 et Instructions : Affirmation concernant le retrait fondé sur des difficultés financières

    Formule 2 : Affirmation concernant l'époux/le conjoint de fait

    Non-résidence :

    Si les critères qui suivent sont respectés, la pension d’une personne peut être retirée en espèces ou transférée à un mécanisme d’épargne à impôt différé, notamment un REÉR ou un FERR, sous réserve des règles applicables en matière d’impôt sur le revenu :

    • la personne ne réside plus au Canada depuis au moins deux années civiles (elle est réputée résider au Canada au cours d’une année civile si elle a résidé au Canada pendant au moins 183 jours cette année‑là); et
    • si la prestation de retraite fait partie d’un régime de retraite, la personne a cessé d’avoir un emploi auprès du répondant de ce régime.
    • REÉR immobilisé
    • FRV
    • FRVR
    • REIR
    • régime de retraite*

    ** Si les fonds de retraite font partie d’un régime de retraite, l’administrateur peut débloquer les fonds mais n’est pas tenu de le faire.

    La valeur totale des prestations de retraite ou des soldes immobilisés.

    Aucun formulaire obligatoire à remplir

    Espérance de vie réduite :

    Si une personne a une espérance de vie réduite (attestée par un médecin) en raison d’un trouble physique ou mental, les fonds peuvent être retirés en espèces ou transférés à un mécanisme d’épargne à impôt différé, notamment un REÉR ou un FERR, sous réserve des règles applicables en matière d’impôt sur le revenu.

    • REÉR immobilisé
    • FRV
    • FRVR
    • REIR
    • régime de retraite*

    * Si les fonds de retraite font partie d’un régime de retraite, il peut être possible d’effectuer un paiement ou une série de paiements à partir de ce dernier en remplacement d’une prestation de retraite. Le régime n’est toutefois pas tenu de le faire. Cette option n’est pas offerte si une personne a déjà commencé sa retraite.

    La valeur totale des prestations de retraite ou des soldes immobilisés de la personne.

    Aucun formulaire obligatoire à remplir

    Débloquage des prestations de faible montant d’un régime de retraite :

    Si une personne a cessé de participer à un régime de retraite et la valeur de ses prestations de retraite est inférieure à 20 % du MGAP pour l’année civile pendant laquelle sa participation a cessé, l’administrateur du régime peut choisir de verser cette somme sous forme de montant forfaitaire.

    Les fonds peuvent être versés en espèces ou transférés à un mécanisme d’épargne à impôt différé, notamment un REÉR ou un FERR, sous réserve des règles applicables en matière d’impôt sur le revenu.

    • régime de retraite

    La valeur totale des prestations de retraite de la personne.

    Aucun formulaire obligatoire à remplir

    Le participant ayant cessé son emploi recevrait un relevé de cessation de l’administrateur du régime

    55 ans et plus – Retrait unique de 50 % :

    Si une personne :

    1. aura 55 ans ou plus au cours de l’année civile; et
    2. exerce l’option dans les 60 jours suivant la date à laquelle les fonds sont initialement déposés dans le FRVR;

    elle peut transférer 50 % des fonds du FRVR dans un REÉR ou un FERR. L’argent peut ensuite être retirée de l’un ou l’autre de ces mécanismes, sous réserve des règles applicables en matière d’impôt sur le revenu. Les fonds ne peuvent être retirés directement en espèces d’un FRVR.

    • FRVR

    Jusqu’à 50 % de la valeur totale du solde du compte immobilisé.

    Formule 2 : Affirmation concernant l'époux/le conjoint de fait

    55 ans et plus – Déblocage d’un solde minime

    Si :

    1. une personne aura 55 ans ou plus au cours de l’année civile; et
    2. la valeur totale de l’ensemble des actifs de tous ses REÉR immobilisés, REÉR immobilisés restreints, FRV et FRVR est inférieure ou égale à 50 % du MGAP (50 % de 55 900 $, soit 27 950 $, en 2018);

    les fonds peuvent être retirés en espèces ou transférés dans un mécanisme d’épargne à impôt différé, notamment un REÉR ou un FERR, sous réserve des règles applicables en matière d’impôt sur le revenu.

    • REÉR immobilisé
    • FRV
    • FRVR
    • REIR

    La valeur totale des soldes des comptes immobilisés.

    Formule 2 : Affirmation concernant l'époux/le conjoint de fait

    Formule 3 : Attestation des sommes totales détenues dans des régimes immobilisés régis par une loi fédérale

  3. Où peut on obtenir les formules nécessaires pour débloquer des fonds?

    Les formules nécessaires peuvent être obtenues auprès de l’institution financière qui détient le contrat de régime d’épargne-retraite immobilisé. Les versions génériques des formules se trouvent sur le site Web du BSIF en format Word ou PDF, et les liens particuliers sont fournis dans le tableau à la question 2 ci dessus. Si une institution financière exige la production d’une formule, elle la fournira aux intéressés.

  4. Quelles sont les obligations de l’institution financière ou du conseiller pour vérifier l’exactitude des attestations d’une personne?

    Le Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension n’oblige pas les institutions financières ou les conseillers à vérifier les chiffres fournis par un client.

    Le rôle du notaire public, du commissaire ou de la personne autorisée à prendre des déclarations sous serment consiste à confirmer l’authenticité de la signature du particulier, mais pas la véracité de ses attestations.

  5. Les options de déblocage influent elles sur les pensions des personnes qui étaient ou sont employées par le gouvernement du Canada?

    Le régime de retraite de la fonction publique fédérale est régi par la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique (LPFP) et non par la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (LNPP). Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada est responsable des questions entourant les pensions des employés de l'administration fédérale. Les questions relatives aux prestations payables en vertu de ce régime doivent lui être adressées. Son numéro sans frais est le 1‑800‑561‑7930.

    La LPFP prévoit que les fonds peuvent être transférés du régime de retraite de la fonction publique à un REÉR immobilisé, un fonds de revenu viager ou un fonds de revenu viager restreint, de sorte que les dispositions du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (RNPP) concernant ces types de mécanismes s’appliquent aux fonds transférés du régime de retraite de la fonction publique à ces mécanismes.

  6. Les options de déblocage peuvent-elles être combinées? Peut on se prévaloir de deux options au cours de la même année civile?

    Oui, pourvu que toutes les conditions de déblocage en vigueur soient réunies. Par exemple, si après l’utilisation de l’option de retrait unique de 50 %, le montant laissé dans le fonds de revenu viager restreint satisfait aux exigences de solde minime, cette option peut être utilisée, au cours de la même année ou toute année suivante.

  7. Le revenu annuel maximal tiré d’un fonds de revenu viager (FRV) ou d’un fonds de revenu viager restreint (FRVR) est-il distinct des options de déblocage et s’y ajoute‑t‑il?

    Oui. Le montant annuel maximal qui peut être retiré d’un FRV ou d’un FRVR est distinct de l’option de retrait unique de 50 %, de retrait au titre de l’exigence de solde minime et de retrait pour difficultés financières, et il s’y ajoute. Toutefois, les fonds retirés d’un FRV ou d’un FRVR doivent être inclus dans votre revenu prévu au cours d’une année civile en vertu de la formule de déblocage pour difficultés financières.

  8. Les intérêts des époux ou conjoints de fait sont-ils protégés lorsque les fonds de retraite sont débloqués?

    Si une personne qui a un époux ou un conjoint de fait souhaite débloquer des fonds en raison d’une difficulté financière, pour un retrait unique de 50 % ou pour un solde minime, l’époux ou le conjoint de fait doit signer la la Formule 2 : Affirmation concernant l'époux/le conjoint de fait attestant qu’il consent au déblocage (voir aussi les questions 2 et 11 concernant ce formulaire).

    Si une personne n’a pas d’époux ou de conjoint de fait, elle doit fournir une attestation sur la même formule.

    Si une personne souhaite débloquer des fonds dans le cadre d’un déblocage pour espérance de vie réduite ou non résidence, le consentement du conjoint n’est pas requis en vertu de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension ou du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension; toutefois, une institution financière peut demander une forme de consentement du conjoint dans le cadre de ses procédures administratives.

  9. Qu’est-ce qu’une affirmation?

    L’auteur d’une affirmation atteste qu’au meilleur de sa connaissance, l’information contenue dans la formule signée est véridique et exacte. Toutes les affirmations doivent être faites devant un notaire public, un commissaire ou une personne autorisée à recueillir des déclarations sous serment.

  10. Si une personne habite à l’extérieur du Canada, doit‑elle faire l’affirmation devant un notaire public, un commissaire ou une autre personne de nationalité canadienne autorisée à recueillir des déclarations sous serment?

    Non. Une affirmation peut être faite à l’extérieur du Canada à condition que ce soit devant une personne compétente (c.-à-d. un notaire public, un commissaire ou une autre personne autorisée à recueillir des déclarations sous serment) dans son pays de résidence.

  11. Est-ce qu’un époux ou conjoint de fait doit faire son affirmation en même temps que la personne qui retire les fonds? Les affirmations doivent‑elles être faites devant la même personne?

    Non. L’époux ou le conjoint de fait n’est pas tenu de faire l’affirmation en même temps que le titulaire du fonds fait la sienne et il n’est pas nécessaire que les affirmations soient faites devant la même personne compétente (c.-à-d. un notaire public, un commissaire ou une autre personne autorisée à recueillir des déclarations sous serment).

  12. Qu’arrive‑t‑il si l’on ne peut trouver l’époux ou le conjoint de fait pour signer la formule?

    Si une personne a un époux ou un conjoint de fait, son consentement est requis avant que les fonds ne puissent être débloqués pour difficultés financières, retrait unique de 50 % ou déblocage de solde minime. L’époux ou le conjoint de fait donne son consentement en remplissant la formule 2 de l’annexe V du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (formule 2).

    Si une personne ne vit plus avec son ancien conjoint de fait, aucun consentement n’est requis parce que cette personne n’est plus réputée conjoint de fait en vertu de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension.

    Si une personne n’a pas de conjoint de fait, mais un époux dont elle est séparée mais non divorcée, cette personne est toujours considérée comme l’époux et son consentement est requis, à moins qu’une ordonnance ou un accord du tribunal sur le partage de biens ne prévoie clairement et sans ambiguïté que l’époux n’a plus droit à une partie des fonds que la personne cherche à débloquer. Cette ordonnance ou cet accord doit être noté et joint à la formule 2. S’il n’existe pas d’ordonnance ou d’accord du tribunal, et si l’on ne peut trouver l’époux, il faut obtenir des conseils juridiques pour déterminer les options possibles.

  13. Si une personne transfère des fonds d’un régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REÉR) immobilisé fédéral dans un fonds de revenu viager (FRV), les sommes transférées peuvent‑elles être réinvesties dans un régime enregistré d’épargne‑retraite immobilisé?
    Si le titulaire du fonds n’a pas atteint l’âge de 71 ans, il peut transférer les fonds du FRV dans un REÉR immobilisé. L’âge de 71 ans est l’âge maximal prévu par la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet des options à 71 ans, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

  14. Si une personne souhaite débloquer des fonds en raison de dépenses médicales ou d’invalidité élevées et qu’elle habite à l’extérieur du Canada, les formules de déblocage doivent‑elles être signés par un médecin canadien?

    Non. Il n’est pas nécessaire que les formules requises soient signées par un médecin canadien. La personne voudra bien déterminer si les fonds peuvent être débloqués parce qu’elle satisfait aux conditions de non‑résidence décrites dans le tableau à la question 2.