Revised Guidance for Companies that Determine Segregated Fund Guarantee Capital Requirements Using an Approved Model

Document Properties

  • Publication Type: Advisory*
  • Category: Capital
  • Date: December 2010
  • Audiences: Life / IHC

This Advisory prescribes new minimum calibration criteria for models that OSFI has approved for use in determining segregated fund guarantee capital requirements by federally regulated life insurers. This revised guidance will apply to segregated fund guarantee capital requirements for business written on or after January 1, 2011. The existing calibration criteria will continue to apply to business written prior to January 1, 2011 until a new approach, which is consistent with the vision for life insurance company capital previously enunciated, is developed and implemented.

For segregated fund products with guarantees based on the date of deposit and where there are separate guarantee periods for different deposits within the same policy, “business written on or after January 1, 2011” includes deposits made to existing policies on or after January 1, 2011. Companies with other types of segregated fund guarantee products should contact OSFI if they require clarification on what constitutes “business written on or after January 1, 2011.”

This Advisory complements the following OSFI guidance:

Background

Section 2.1.2 of the March 2002 report of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) Task Force on Segregated Fund Investment Guarantees (CIA document 202012) contains a set of calibration criteria for segregated fund guarantee models.  As part of the validation process for an internal model used for regulatory capital purposes, section 8.F(g) of the Use of Models instruction guide requires that models comply with the CIA calibration criteria as a necessary condition for approval. 

The existing CIA calibration criteria are based on the performance of the TSX total return index from January 1956 to December 1999. These criteria were developed at a time when the majority of exposure in segregated fund guarantee products was to large capitalization Canadian equities. Since that time, product offerings have evolved to the point that there is now significant exposure to US and international equities, small and mid capitalization equities and bonds.

Accordingly, OSFI is revising the minimum calibration criteria for the investment return scenarios used to determine segregated fund guarantee total requirements to better capture the risks in current segregated fund guarantee product offerings and ensure that equity return experience since 1999, as well for periods prior to 1956, is appropriately reflected. The new calibration criteria define minimum statistical characteristics that the scenarios actually used in the determination of the total requirement must have.

Equity Index Calibration Criteria

New minimum quantitative calibration criteria are mandated for the scenarios used to model the returns of the following total return equity indexes (henceforth referred to as “listed indexes”):

  • TSX
  • Canadian small cap equity, mid cap equity and specialty equity
  • S&P 500
  • US small cap equity, mid cap equity and specialty equity
  • MSCI World Equity and MSCI EAFE

The actual investment return scenarios for each of the listed indexes used in the determination of total requirements must meet the criteria specified in the following table.

Time Period
6 months 1 year
Left tail criteria:
2.5th percentile of return not greater than -25% -35%
5th percentile of return not greater than -18% -26%
10th percentile of return not greater than -10% -15%
Right tail criteria:
90th percentile of return not less than 20% 30%
95th percentile of return not less than 25% 38%
97.5th percentile of return not less than 30% 45%

Furthermore, the arithmetic average of the actual investment return scenarios for each listed index over any one-year period (including the one-year period starting on the valuation date) cannot be greater than 10%. All of these criteria must be met for the scenarios of a listed index to be in accordance with the new minimum calibration criteria.

Modeled scenarios of TSX total return indexes must continue to satisfy the CIA calibration criteria at all percentiles over the five- and ten-year time horizons as published in the CIA’s March 2002 report, in addition to the criteria above. Modeled scenarios of S&P 500 total return indexes must satisfy the American Academy of Actuaries’ calibration criteria for equitiesFootnote 1 at all percentiles over the five-, ten- and twenty-year time horizons, in addition to the criteria above.

The scenarios used to model returns of an equity index that is not one of the listed indexes need not meet the same calibration criteria, but must still be consistent with the calibrated scenarios used to model the returns of the listed indexes.

Correlation: The scenarios used to model returns for different equity indexes should be positively correlated with one another. Unless it can be justified otherwise, the correlation between the returns generated for any two equity indexes (whether or not they are listed) should be at least 70%. If scenarios are generated using a model that distinguishes between positive and negative trend market phases (e.g. the regime-switching lognormal model with two regimes) then, unless it can be justified otherwise, the scenarios should be such that there is a very high probability that different equity indexes will be in the same market phase at the same time, and a very low probability that different equity indexes will be in different phases at the same time.

Bond Index Calibration Criteria

New minimum quantitative calibration criteria are mandated for the scenarios used to model total return bond indexes that track the performance of Canadian government, US government, or investment grade corporate bonds. The actual investment return scenarios for each such index used in the determination of total requirements must have the specified characteristics.

Left tail criteria:

Upper bounds are placed on the 2.5th, 5thand 10th percentiles of the one-year total returns of the indicated bond indexes. For p=2.5, 5, and 10 the pth percentile of the total return over one year cannot be greater than

Not yet defined  

where:

r

is the effective per annum yield, at the time of valuation, on a D-year zero-coupon government bond in the currency of the bond index

D

is the duration, measured in years, of the bond index at the time of valuation

ap and bp

as set forth below, are parameters related to the associated pth percentile increase in interest rates

dp

as set forth below, is the reduction in the return at percentile p due to credit default and downgrade losses associated with the particular bond index

The values of ap for a particular percentile depend on the average term to maturity of the bond index. For terms to maturity of 1, 3, 5 and 10 years, the values of ap are given by the following table:

Percentile Term to Maturity
1 Year 3 Years 5 Years 10 Years
ap ap ap ap
2.5th 2.00% 1.60% 1.20% 0.80%
5th 1.70% 1.35% 1.00% 0.70%
10th 1.30% 1.05% 0.80% 0.50%

The values of bp are given by the following table:

Percentile bp
2.5th 5.00%
5th 4.20%
10th 3.30%

The value of dp for all government bond indexes is 0. The values of dp for other credit classes are given by the following tables:

d2.5 Term to Maturity
1 3 5 10
AAA/AA 0.10% 0.50% 0.75% 1.30%
A 0.30% 0.80% 1.20% 2.00%
BBB 0.80% 2.00% 2.80% 4.00%
d5 Term to Maturity
1 3 5 10
AAA/AA 0.06% 0.30% 0.55% 1.00%
A 0.20% 0.55% 0.85% 1.50%
BBB 0.50% 1.40% 2.00% 3.00%
d10 Term to Maturity
1 3 5 10
AAA/AA 0.03% 0.15% 0.30% 0.65%
A 0.10% 0.30% 0.50% 1.00%
BBB 0.30% 0.85% 1.30% 2.00%

For terms to maturity between 1 and 10 years, the values of ap and dp are determined by linear interpolation between the nearest terms to maturity in the above tables. For terms to maturity greater than 10 years, the values of ap and dp for the 10-year term to maturity are to be used.

For terms to maturity less than 1 year, the values of ap and d p for the 1-year term to maturity are to be used. For indexes containing bonds in multiple credit classes, dp for the index should be calculated as the notional-weighted average of dp taken over each of the bonds in the index.

Average return criterion:

An upper bound is placed on the expected compounded average total return of each of the indicated bond indexes. The arithmetic average of the scenario-specific compounded average returns calculated over the D-year period beginning on the valuation date may not be greater than

r + s,

where D and r are defined as before, and s represents the average credit risk premium. The value of s is given by the following table:

Credit Class s
Government 0.00%
AA or higher 0.85%
A 1.10%
BBB 1.45%

Criteria for other bond indexes:

The scenarios used to model returns of a bond index that does not track the performance of Canadian government, US government, or investment grade corporate bonds need not meet the same calibration criteria, but must still be consistent with the calibrated scenarios used to model the returns of these indexes, and must be conservatively determined.

Correlation: The scenarios used to model returns for different bond indexes should be positively correlated with one another. Unless it can be justified otherwise, the correlation between the returns generated for an equity index and a bond index in the same currency should not be greater than 40%.

Companies should take into consideration the limited historical experience with very low interest rate environments when setting assumptions for bond fund models and ensure that their models appropriately capture the risks associated with very low interest rate environments. A company’s implementation of the new calibration criteria should not result in less conservative modeling or the use of less conservative scenario sets for bond indexes than is currently the case.

Criteria for Individual Segregated Funds

If weighted averages of modeled indexes are used to calculate the return scenarios for an individual segregated fund (before fee deductions), all of the index return scenarios on which the segregated fund return scenarios are based must meet the above calibration criteria. Companies that do not model segregated fund investment returns (before fee deductions) as weighted averages of index returns should contact OSFI for information on how to calibrate the segregated fund return scenarios.

Calculation of Total Requirement for Exposures Subject to this Advisory

The total requirement for business subject to this Advisory (i.e., for business written on or after January 1, 2011) will be calculated separately from the total requirement for all other segregated fund guarantee business.

The total gross calculated requirement (TGCR) for the segregated fund guarantee exposure as a whole will be the sum of the total requirements for business subject to this Advisory and all other business, where the individual components have been floored at zero before the sum is calculated.

* Advisories describe how OSFI administers and interprets provisions of existing legislation, regulations or guidelines, or provide OSFI’s position regarding certain policy issues. Advisories are not law; readers should refer to the relevant provisions of the legislation, regulation or guideline, including any amendments that came into effect subsequent to the Advisory’s publication, when considering the relevancy of the Advisory.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

For example, as published in the American Academy of Actuaries document entitled Recommended Approach for Setting Regulatory Risk-Based Capital Requirements for Variable Annuities and Similar Products dated June 2005.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Directives révisées à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie qui calculent les exigences en capital au titre des garanties de fonds distincts au moyen d’un modèle approuvé

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Préavis*
  • Catégorie : Fonds propres
  • Date : Décembre 2010
  • Public : SAV / SPA

Le présent préavis énonce les nouveaux critères minimum d’étalonnage des modèles approuvés par le BSIF aux fins de l’établissement des exigences auxquelles les sociétés d’assurance-vie (SAV) fédérales doivent satisfaire en matière de capital au titre des garanties de fonds distincts. Les nouvelles directives s’appliqueront aux exigences en capital au titre des garanties de fonds distincts pour les polices souscrites à compter du 1er janvier 2011. Les critères d’étalonnage actuellement en vigueur continueront de s’appliquer aux polices souscrites avant le 1er janvier 2011 jusqu’à ce qu’une nouvelle approche, conforme à la vision sur le capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie déjà énoncée, soit élaborée et mise en œuvre.

Pour les produits de fonds distincts dont la garantie se fonde sur la date de dépôt et qui comportent des périodes de garantie distinctes pour divers dépôts dans le cadre de la même police, l’expression « polices souscrites à compter du 1er janvier 2011 » s’entend notamment des dépôts effectués au titre de polices existantes à compter du 1er janvier 2011. Les sociétés qui offrent d’autres types de produits de garantie de fonds distincts devraient communiquer avec le BSIF si elles ont besoin de précisions sur le sens de « polices souscrites à compter du 1er janvier 2011 ».

Le présent préavis fournit un complément d’information aux documents du BSIF que voici.

Contexte

Un ensemble de critères d’étalonnage des modèles de garanties de fonds distincts figure à la section 2.1.2 du rapport de mars 2002 du Groupe de travail de l’ICA sur les garanties de placements des fonds distincts (document 202012 de l’ICA). Dans le cadre du processus de validation d’un modèle interne appliqué à des fins de calcul du capital réglementaire, le BSIF exige, tel que stipulé à la section 8.F(g) de son guide d’instruction Utilisation de modèles internes pour déterminer le capital requis à l’égard des risques de fonds distincts (TSAV), que les modèles soient conformes aux critères d’étalonnage de l’ICA pour être approuvés.  

Les critères d’étalonnage actuels de l’ICA s’appuient sur l’indice de rendement total TSX de janvier 1956 à décembre 1999. Les critères ont été définis à un moment où les garanties de fonds distincts étaient, pour la plupart, exposées à des actions canadiennes de grande capitalisation. Les produits offerts ont depuis évolué à un point tel qu’il y a des expositions significatives aux actions américaines et internationales et aux actions et obligations de petite et moyenne capitalisations.

Par conséquent, le BSIF revoit actuellement les critères minimum d’étalonnage des scénarios relatifs au rendement des placements utilisés pour déterminer les exigences totales des garanties de fonds distincts afin de mieux saisir les risques des garanties de fonds distincts offertes en ce moment et de garantir que les rendements boursiers depuis 1999 et des périodes antérieures à 1956 sont adéquatement pris en compte. Les nouveaux critères d’étalonnage définissent les paramètres statistiques minimaux que les scénarios utilisés pour déterminer l’exigence totale doivent comporter.

Critères d’étalonnage de l’indice boursier

De nouveaux critères quantitatifs minimum d’étalonnage sont prescrits pour les scénarios utilisés aux fins de la modélisation du rendement total des indices boursiers que voici (désignés les indices énumérés) :

  • TSX
  • Actions de petite capitalisation, actions de moyenne capitalisation et actions spéciales du Canada
  • S&P 500
  • Actions de petite capitalisation, actions de moyenne capitalisation et actions spéciales des É.-U.
  • Actions MSCI World et MSCI EAEO

Les scénarios relatifs au rendement réel des placements pour chacun des indices énumérés utilisés aux fins du calcul des exigences totales doivent satisfaire aux critères figurant dans le tableau suivant.

Période de temps
6 mois 1 an
Critères de l’extrémité gauche :
2,5e percentile du rendement à concurrence d’au plus -25 % -35 %
5e percentile du rendement à concurrence d’au plus -18 % -26 %
10e percentile du rendement à concurrence d’au plus -10 % -15 %
Critères de l’extrémité droite :
90e percentile du rendement à concurrence d’au moins 20 % 30 %
95e percentile du rendement à concurrence d’au moins 25 % 38 %
97,5e percentile du rendement à concurrence d’au moins 30 % 45 %

En outre, la moyenne arithmétique des scénarios de rendement réel des placements pour chaque indice énuméré sur une période d’un an (y compris la période d’un an à compter de la date d’évaluation) ne peut être supérieure à 10 %. Il faut satisfaire à tous ces critères pour que les scénarios d’un indice énuméré soient conformes aux nouveaux critères minimum d’étalonnage.

Les scénarios modélisés des indices de rendement global TSX doivent continuer à satisfaire aux critères d’étalonnage de l’ICA à tous les percentiles sur les horizons de cinq ans et de dix ans publiés dans le rapport de mars 2002 de l’ICA outre les critères susmentionnés. Les scénarios modélisés des indices de rendement global S&P 500 doivent satisfaire aux critères d’étalonnage de l’American Academy of Actuaries appliqués aux actionsNote de bas de page 1 à tous les percentiles sur les horizons temporels de cinq, dix et vingt ans, outre les critères susmentionnés.

Les scénarios utilisés pour modéliser les rendements d’un indice boursier ne figurant pas dans la liste ci-haut ne doivent pas satisfaire aux mêmes critères d’étalonnage, mais ils doivent tout de même être conformes aux scénarios étalonnés utilisés pour modéliser les rendements des indices énumérés.

Corrélation : Les scénarios utilisés pour modéliser les rendements de divers indices boursiers doivent être positivement corrélés les uns avec les autres. À moins de pouvoir le justifier autrement, la corrélation entre les rendements générés de deux indices boursiers (qu’ils soient ou non énumérés) doit correspondre à au moins 70 %. Si les scénarios sont générés à l’aide d’un modèle qui fait la distinction entre les phases boursières à tendance positive et négative (p. ex., le modèle lognormal à changement de régime avec deux régimes), alors, à moins de pouvoir le justifier autrement, les scénarios doivent tenir compte du fait qu’il est très probable que les divers indices boursiers se retrouveront dans la même phase boursière au même moment et qu’il est très peu probable que les divers indices boursiers se retrouveront dans des phases différentes au même moment.

Critères d’étalonnage des indices des obligations

De nouveaux critères quantitatifs minimum d’étalonnage sont prescrits pour les scénarios utilisés pour modéliser les indices de rendement total des obligations afin de suivre le rendement des obligations du gouvernement canadien, des obligations du gouvernement américain ou des obligations de sociétés de qualité supérieure. Les scénarios de rendement réel des placements pour chaque indice utilisé dans le calcul des exigences totales doivent présenter les caractéristiques spécifiées.

Critères de l’extrémité gauche :

Des limites supérieures sont appliquées aux 2,5e, 5e et 10e percentiles du rendement total sur un an des indices des obligations indiqués. Pour p = 2,5, 5 et 10, le pe percentile du rendement total sur un an ne peut être supérieur à

Pas encore définie  

où :

r

équivaut au rendement annuel effectif, au moment de l’évaluation, d’une obligation du gouvernement à coupon zéro de l’année D libellée en devises de l’indice des obligations

D

correspond à la durée, en années, de l’indice des obligations au moment de l’évaluation

a p et b p

dont les valeurs sont indiquées ci-après, sont les paramètres relatifs à la hausse des taux d’intérêt au percentile pe associée

d p

dont les valeurs sont indiquées ci-après, correspond à la diminution du rendement au percentile p attribuable aux pertes pour créances irrécouvrables et décote associées à l’indice des obligations spécifique

Les valeurs de a p pour un percentile spécifique dépendent de l’échéance résiduelle moyenne de l’indice des obligations. Pour des échéances résiduelles de 1, 3, 5 et 10 ans, les valeurs de a p sont indiquées dans le tableau suivant.

Percentile Échéance résiduelle
1 an 3 ans 5 ans 10 ans
a p a p a p a p
2,5e 2,00 % 1,60 % 1,20 % 0,80 %
5e 1,70 % 1,35 % 1,00 % 0,70 %
10e 1,30 % 1,05 % 0,80 % 0,50 %

Les valeurs de b p sont indiquées dans le tableau suivant.

Percentile b p
2,5e 5,00 %
5e 4,20 %
10e 3,30 %

La valeur de dp pour tous les indices des obligations gouvernementales est zéro. Les valeurs de dp pour d’autres catégories de crédit sont indiquées dans le tableau suivant.

d2.5 Échéance résiduelle
1 3 5 10
AAA / AA 0,10 % 0,50 % 0,75 % 1,30 %
A 0,30 % 0,80 % 1,20 % 2,00 %
BBB 0,80 % 2,00 % 2,80 % 4,00 %
d5 Échéance résiduelle
1 3 5 10
AAA / AA 0,06 % 0,30 % 0,55 % 1,00 %
A 0,20 % 0,55 % 0,85 % 1,50 %
BBB 0,50 % 1,40 % 2,00 % 3,00 %
d10 Échéance résiduelle
1 3 5 10
AAA / AA 0,03 % 0,15 % 0,30 % 0,65 %
A 0,10 % 0,30 % 0,50 % 1,00 %
BBB 0,30 % 0,85 % 1,30 % 2,00 %

Pour des échéances résiduelles entre 1 et 10 ans, les valeurs de ap et dp sont définies par interpolation linéaire entre les échéances résiduelles les plus rapprochées dans les tableaux ci-haut. Pour des échéances résiduelles de plus de 10 ans, les valeurs de ap et dp de l’échéance résiduelle de 10 ans doivent être utilisées. Pour des échéances résiduelles de moins d’un an, les valeurs de ap et dp de l’échéance résiduelle d’un an doivent être utilisées. Pour des indices comportant des obligations dans de multiples catégories de crédit, la valeur dpde l’indice doit correspondre à la moyenne pondérée théorique de dp calculée pour chacune des obligations de l’indice.

Critère du rendement moyen :

Une limite supérieure est appliquée au rendement total moyen composé prévu de chaque indice des obligations indiqué. La moyenne arithmétique des rendements moyens composés propres à un scénario calculée pendant la période D-année à compter de la date de l’évaluation pourrait ne pas être supérieure à

r + s

où les paramètres D et r sont définis ci-haut et s représente la moyenne de la prime pour risque de crédit. La valeur de s est indiquée dans le tableau suivant.

Catégorie de crédit s
Gouvernement 0,00 %
AA ou plus 0,85 %
A 1,10 %
BBB 1,45 %

Critères pour les indices d’autres obligations :

Les scénarios utilisés pour modéliser les rendements d’un indice des obligations qui ne suit pas le rendement des obligations du gouvernement canadien, des obligations du gouvernement des États-Unis ou des obligations de sociétés de qualité supérieure ne sont pas tenus de satisfaire aux mêmes critères d’étalonnage, mais ils doivent tout de même être conformes aux scénarios étalonnés utilisés pour modéliser les rendements de ces indices et élaborés de façon prudente.

Corrélation : Les scénarios utilisés pour modéliser les rendements de divers indices des obligations doivent être positivement corrélés les uns avec les autres. À moins de pouvoir le justifier autrement, la corrélation entre les rendements générés pour un indice boursier et un indice des obligations libellés dans la même devise doit correspondre à au plus 40 %.

Les entreprises doivent tenir compte des résultats historiques limités à l’égard d’environnements de taux d’intérêt très bas au moment de formuler des hypothèses relatives aux modèles de fonds d’obligations et garantir que leurs modèles tiennent adéquatement compte des risques associés aux environnements de taux d’intérêt très faibles. Une entreprise qui met en œuvre les nouveaux critères d’étalonnage ne doit pas modéliser de façon moins conservatrice ou ne doit pas appliquer aux indices des obligations un ensemble de scénarios moins conservateurs que maintenant.

Critères relatifs aux fonds distincts individuels

Si les moyennes pondérées des indices modélisés sont utilisées pour calculer les scénarios des rendements d’un fonds distinct individuel (avant déduction des frais), tous les scénarios de rendement de l’indice sur lesquels se fondent les scénarios de rendement des fonds distincts doivent satisfaire aux critères d’étalonnage ci-haut. Les entreprises qui ne modélisent pas les

rendements des placements des fonds distincts (avant déduction des frais) à l’aide des moyennes pondérées des rendements des indices doivent communiquer avec le BSIF pour obtenir de l’information sur la manière d’étalonner les scénarios de rendement des fonds distincts.

Calcul de l’exigence totale pour les expositions assujetties au présent préavis

L’exigence totale pour les polices assujetties au présent préavis (c.-à-d., les polices souscrites à compter du 1er janvier 2011) sera calculée séparément de l’exigence totale pour toutes les autres polices de garanties de fonds distincts.

Le total brut calculé requis (TBCR) pour l’exposition de garantie de fonds distincts dans l’ensemble correspondra à la somme des exigences totales pour les polices assujetties au présent préavis et toutes les autres polices, à l’égard desquelles le seuil des composantes individuelles a été fixé à zéro avant que la somme ne soit calculée.

* Les préavis ont pour objet de fournir des précisions sur la façon dont le BSIF administre et interprète les lois, les règlements et les lignes directrices en vigueur, ou d’exprimer la position du BSIF concernant des questions stratégiques précises. Ce ne sont pas des documents de nature juridique. Le lecteur en établira la pertinence à la lumière des dispositions des lois, des règlements et des lignes directrices abordées, ainsi que des modifications qui auront pu leur être apportées après la parution du préavis.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Par exemple, ainsi que publié dans le document de l’American Academy of Actuaries intitulé « Recommended Approach for Setting Regulatory Risk-Based Capital Requirements for Variable Annuities and Similar Products » daté de juin 2005.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1