Background Checks on Directors and Senior Management of FREs

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: February 11, 2008
  • Reference: Guideline for Banks / BHC / FBB / T&L / Co-op / Life / P&C / IHC
  • To: Federally Regulated Entities

OSFI has released the final version of Guideline E-17 – Background Checks on Directors and Senior Management of FREs, which sets out principles to assist FREs in the establishment of policies and procedures to conduct assessments of the suitability and integrity of their directors and senior management. While FREs already have varying policies and procedures to assess the suitability and integrity of their Responsible Persons, this Guideline seeks to ensure that such practices are sufficiently robust across FREs.

The proposed framework will help ensure that OSFI guidance remains consistent with international developments. Several international organizations, including the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, the International Association of Insurance Supervisors and the Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering, have issued core principles and recommendations that require directors and senior officers of financial institutions to be regularly evaluated with respect to suitability and integrity. These requirements represent an internationally accepted benchmark of minimum supervisory standards against which the quality of a country’s prudential supervision system can be measured and assessed. Regulators in other comparable jurisdictions have either issued guidance on, or have procedures in place relating to, the assessment of the suitability and integrity of directors and senior officers of regulated entities.

This final Guideline includes the following changes from the draft version posted on May 30, 2007:

  • Rather than requiring FREs to conduct searches of civil proceedings, attestation from a Responsible Person that the Responsible Person has not been held liable in any civil proceeding related to financial or business misconduct, fraud or mismanagement will be sufficient to meet the requirements of the Guideline; and
  • In order to provide additional clarity, the title of the Guideline has been changed from “Assessments of Responsible Persons by FREs” to “Background Checks on Directors and Senior Management of FREs”.

There is a one year transition period for compliance with the final guideline. As such, all FREs are expected to be compliant by January 31, 2009.

Questions concerning the final guideline should be addressed to Laural Ross by telephone at (613) 990-6972, by email at laural.ross@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, or by facsimile at (613) 998-6716.

This Guideline is available in English and French on OSFI’s Web site (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca) under the Publications section. This Guideline may also be obtained by contacting

Mr. Stéphane Dupel, General Services Division, by e-mail at pub@osfi-bsif.gc.ca or by facsimile at (613) 954-4331.

  • Robert Hanna
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Regulation Sector

Vérification des antécédents des administrateurs et dirigeants d’une entité fédérale

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : 11 février 2008
  • Référence : Banques / SPB / SBE / SFP / Coop / SAV / SAM / SPA
  • Destinataires : Entités fédérales

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières vient de publier la version finale de sa ligne directrice E-17, Vérification des antécédents des administrateurs et dirigeants d’une entité fédérale, dans laquelle sont énoncés des principes visant à aider les entités fédérales à établir des politiques et procédures permettant d’évaluer la qualification et l’intégrité de leurs administrateurs et dirigeants. Bien qu’elles disposent déjà de diverses politiques et procédures en la matière, cette ligne directrice vise à faire en sorte que les entités fédérales les mettent en pratique à l’échelle du secteur.

Le cadre proposé permettra de s’assurer que les directives du BSIF suivent l’évolution du secteur à l’échelle internationale. Plusieurs organisations internationales, dont le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire, l’Association internationale des contrôleurs d’assurance et le Groupe d’action financière sur le blanchiment de capitaux, ont publié des principes et des recommandations de base selon lesquels les administrateurs et les dirigeants des institutions financières doivent faire l’objet d’une évaluation périodique sur le plan de la qualification et de l’intégrité. Ces exigences constituent un point de référence reconnu à l’échelle internationale en matière de normes minimales de surveillance en fonction duquel la qualité des systèmes de surveillance prudentielle de divers pays peut être mesurée et évaluée. Les organismes de réglementation de pays comparables au Canada ont soit diffusé des directives portant sur l’évaluation de la qualification et de l’intégrité des administrateurs et dirigeants d’entités réglementées, soit mis en place des procédures en la matière.

La version finale la ligne directrice E-17 se distingue de la précédente, publiée le 30 mai 2007, par les points suivants :

  • Plutôt que de devoir fouiller les dossiers d’instances civiles, il suffit maintenant à l’entité fédérale, pour se conformer aux exigences de la ligne directrice, de produire une attestation signée par le responsable à l’effet que celui-ci n’a jamais été trouvé coupable dans une cause d’instance civile pour inconduite financière ou commerciale, fraude ou mauvaise gestion; et
  • Par souci de clarté, l’ancien titre de la ligne directrice, Évaluation des responsables par les EF, est remplacé par Vérification des antécédents des administrateurs et dirigeants d’une entité fédérale.

Les entités fédérales disposent d’une période d’un an, c'est-à-dire jusqu’au 31 janvier 2009, pour se conformer aux exigences de la version finale de la ligne directrice.

Prière d’adresser les questions au sujet de la ligne directrice à Laural Ross, au numéro de téléphone (613) 990-6972, par courriel à laural.ross@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, ou par télécopieur au (613) 998-6716.

Cette ligne directrice est disponible en français et en anglais, sur le site Web du BSIF (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca) à la rubrique « Publications ». On peut également en obtenir une copie papier en écrivant à monsieur Stéphane Dupel, Division des services généraux, par courriel à pub@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, ou par télécopieur au (613) 954-4331.

  • Le surintendant auxiliaire,
  • Secteur de la réglementation
  • Robert Hanna