B-12 Interest Rate Risk Management

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: May 2019

I. Background

OSFI issued guideline B-12 in 2005 to provide a risk control framework for managing interest rate risk to prudent levels for banks, bank holding companies and federally regulated trust and loan companies. The guideline endorsed the guidance issued in 2004 by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS) through the "Principles for the Management and Supervision of Interest Rate Risk".

II. Problem Identification

The BCBS updated its guidance in 2016 by issuing Interest Rate Risk in the Banking Book (IRRBB). OSFI's current guideline is a concise document that, if not updated and expanded, would not align with revised international guidance and best practice.

III. Objectives

OSFI's objective is to ensure that the guideline remains current and comprehensive with respect to defining a risk control framework for managing IRRBB at a prudent level. Specifically, revisions to the guideline focus on:

  • Additional guidance regarding an institution's IRRBB governance process.
  • Descriptions of OSFI's expectations regarding IRRBB measurement, the development of stress and shock scenarios, as well as key behavioural and modelling assumptions institutions should consider.
  • The introduction of an outlier/materiality test that compares an institution's maximum loss to its capital base under various prescribed scenarios.

IV. Consultations

OSFI issued the draft guideline revisions on IRRBB for public consultation in October 2018. The cover letter to the final guideline contains a summary of material comments received from stakeholders and an explanation of how they have been addressed.

V. Recommendations

OSFI recommends that the guideline be updated to incorporate the revised IRRBB standard issued by the BCBS in 2016 in order to provide institutions with additional guidance and transparency on the aspects of interest rate risk management that are of particular interest to OSFI.

VI. Implementation & Evaluation

The guideline will be effective January 1, 2020 for domestic systemically important banks (D-SIBs) and January 1, 2021 for all other deposit-taking institutions. Once implemented, OSFI will monitor adherence to the guideline through ongoing supervision of institutions. The current version of Guideline B-12 remains effective for non-D-SIBs until January 1, 2021.

Gestion du risque de taux d’intérêt

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : Mai 2019

I. Contexte

En 2005, le BSIF a publié la ligne directrice B-12 dans le but de fournir aux banques, aux sociétés de portefeuille bancaire et aux sociétés de fiducie et de prêt fédérales un cadre de gestion prudente et contrôlée risque de taux d'intérêt. Cette ligne directrice découlait de la norme Principles for the Management and Supervision of Interest Rate Risk que le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire (CBCB) avait publié en 2004. 

II. Définition du problème

En 2016, le CBCB a révisé sa norme et publié le document Risque de taux d'intérêt dans le portefeuille bancaire (RTIPB). La version actuelle de la ligne directrice du BSIF est un document concis qui, s'il n'est pas révisé et étoffé, ne cadrera plus avec les nouvelles normes et pratiques exemplaires internationales.

III. Objectifs

Le BSIF veut faire en sorte que sa ligne directrice demeure pertinente et traite de tous les aspects de l'établissement d'un cadre de gestion prudente et contrôlée du RTIPB. À cette fin, la révision de sa ligne directrice cible les objectifs suivants :

  • Donner des consignes supplémentaires concernant le processus de gouvernance du RTIPB des institutions.
  • Décrire les attentes du BSIF au sujet de la mesure du RTIPB, de l'élaboration de scénarios de crise et de choc, et des principales hypothèses comportementales et de modélisation que les institutions doivent prendre en compte.
  • Instaurer un test servant à repérer les institutions hors normes et à déterminer l'importance relative et qui permet de comparer la perte maximale d'une institution à sa base de fonds propres selon divers scénarios prévus.

IV. Consultations

En octobre dernier, le BSIF a soumis à consultation publique une nouvelle version de sa ligne directrice sur le RTIPB. La lettre d'accompagnement de la version finale de la ligne directrice renferme un condensé des principaux commentaires des intéressés et une explication de la façon dont ils ont été pris en compte.

V. Recommandation

Le BSIF recommande de réviser la ligne directrice de façon à ce qu'elle tienne compte de la nouvelle norme de 2016 du CBCB et pour donner aux institutions des consignes supplémentaires et pour faire preuve de transparence à l'égard des aspects de la gestion du risque de taux d'intérêt qui revêtent un intérêt particulier pour le BSIF.

VI. Mise en œuvre et évaluation

La nouvelle version de la ligne directrice entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020 pour les banques d'importance systémique intérieure (BISi), et le 1er janvier 2021 pour les autres institutions. Le BSIF en contrôlera l'observation dans le cadre de ses activités de surveillance permanente. À noter que les institutions financières qui ne sont pas classées parmi BISi devront continuer de se conformer à la version actuelle de la ligne directrice B‑12 jusqu'au 1er janvier 2021.