Internal Model Oversight Framework

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Category: Sound Business and Financial Practices
  • Date: June 2019
  • No: E-25

I. Background

OSFI, in collaboration with the property and casualty (P&C) insurance industry, through the Minimum Capital Test Advisory Committee (P&C MAC), has developed criteria for the use of an internal model approach that may eventually be included in OSFI's capital framework for P&C insurance companies. The P&C MAC concluded its work in April 2018.

II. Problem Identification

If an insurer is approved by OSFI to use an internal model to determine regulatory capital requirements (internal model), the insurer has some flexibility in the design of their company-specific model to better measure and manage the risks they face. However, the flexibility afforded by internal models can introduce risk. OSFI does not currently have any guidance specific for P&C insurance companies regarding the management of risk associated with internal models used for regulatory capital purposes.

III. Objective

OSFI believes that articulating its expectations for an internal model oversight framework provides a common source of reference for P&C insurance companies. Therefore, OSFI would like to provide clear expectations in the areas of internal model and data oversight, internal model risk control, the roles and responsibilities of certain stakeholders (e.g. internal audit) and documentation.

IV. Consultations

OSFI will issue for comment a draft version of Guideline E-25 Internal Model Oversight Framework. Comments received by August 30, 2019 will be considered in the development of the final guideline.

V. Recommendation

We recommend that OSFI issue for public consultation a draft version of the guideline that resolves the issues identified in section II and achieves the objectives set out in section III.

VI. Implementation

OSFI intends to finalize guideline E-25 Internal Model Oversight Framework for publication by the end of 2019.

Cadre de surveillance des modèles internes

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : Juin 2019
  • Référence : Ligne directrice à l’intention des assureurs multirisques

I. Contexte

Le BSIF et le secteur des assurances multirisques se sont concertés pour poser, par le biais du Comité consultatif sur le test du capital minimal (CCTCM), les bases d’une approche de modèle interne qui pourrait éventuellement être intégrée au cadre de capital des sociétés d’assurances multirisques. Le CCTCM a terminé ses travaux en avril 2018.

II. Définition du problème

L’assureur que le BSIF autorise à utiliser un modèle interne pour établir les exigences auxquelles il doit satisfaire en matière de capital réglementaire peut, dans une certaine mesure, concevoir son propre modèle de quantification et de gestion des risques avec lesquels il doit composer. Toutefois, la souplesse offerte par les modèles internes peut introduire des risques. À l’heure actuelle, le BSIF n’a pas de consignes à l’intention des assureurs multirisques au sujet de la gestion des risques associés aux modèles internes servant à calculer le capital réglementaire.

III. Objectif

Le BSIF estime que l’énoncé de ses attentes à l’égard des cadres de surveillance et de risque de modélisation permet une compréhension commune des attentes à l’égard des assureurs multirisques. Par conséquent, le BSIF souhaite formuler des attentes claires dans les domaines de la surveillance des modèles internes et des données, du contrôle des risques de modélisation interne, des responsabilités de certains intervenants (p. ex., l’audit interne) et de la documentation.

IV. Consultations

Le BSIF diffusera aux fins de commentaires une version provisoire de la ligne directrice E-25, Cadre de surveillance des modèles internes. Les commentaires reçus d’ici le 30 août 2019 seront pris en compte dans l’élaboration de la version définitive de la ligne directrice.

V. Recommandation

Nous recommandons que le BSIF diffuse, aux fins de consultation publique, une version provisoire de la ligne directrice qui règle les questions soulevées à la section II et atteint les objectifs énoncés à la section III.

VI. Mise en œuvre

Le BSIF entend mettre la dernière main à la ligne directrice E-25, Cadre de surveillance des modèles internes, en vue de sa parution à la fin de l’année 2019.