Materiality Criteria for Related Party Transactions

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: August 2008
  • No: E-6

I. Background

Parts XI of the Bank Act, the Trust and Loan Companies Act and the Insurance Companies Act and Part XII of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act define who are related parties of federally regulated financial institutionsFootnote 1 (FRFIs), and set out rules for undertaking transactions with related parties. Subject to a limited number of exceptions, FRFIs cannot directly or indirectly enter into a transaction with a related party. One of these exceptions permits FRFIs to enter into a related party transaction if the value of the transaction is nominal or immaterial to the FRFI when measured by criteria established by the FRFI's Conduct Review Committee (CRC) and approved in writing by the SuperintendentFootnote 2. The Materiality Criteria for Related Party Transactions Guidelines (the E-6 Guidelines) establish criteria for determining whether a transaction with a related party is nominal or immaterial for the purposes of the legislation.

FRFIs that adopt materiality criteria at least as stringent as the criteria set out in their respective sector Guideline are deemed to have obtained OSFI approval.

II. Problem Identification

1. Clarity of the Guidelines

The need for the October 2001 Guidance Note to the life insurance Guideline suggests that the current E-6 Guidelines could be clearer with respect to the types of transactions included in each category. At the time the Guidance Note was issued, OSFI indicated that it intended to initiate a comprehensive review of the E-6 Guidelines.

Unclear guidance can pose a number of risks. First, there is a risk that FRFIs may be undertaking non-permitted self-dealing transactions. Second, FRFIs may misinterpret the Guidelines as permitting prohibited related party transactions, which could result in losses. Third, FRFIs could also be exposed to reputational risk if they undertake inappropriate transactions because they have misinterpreted the guidance.

2. Relevance of the guidelines

OSFI is committed to ensuring that its guidance remains relevant. Significant legislative changes to the self-dealing regime mean that the materiality categories in the Guidelines should be reviewed and amended.

For example, prior to the 1997 legislative changes, the CRC was required to approve all related party transactions (even those permitted by the legislation), and to satisfy itself that each transaction was on terms and conditions at least as favourable to the FRFI as market terms and conditions. However, CRC approval was not required for immaterial related party transactions. Therefore, to reduce the burden on the CRC, OSFI included in the Guidelines some permitted related party transactions undertaken in the normal course of business. Under the current legislation the CRC is only required to review procedures for compliance with the self-dealing regime. Therefore, there is no longer a need to have materiality criteria for permitted related party transactions.

3. Different guidelines for the sectors

OSFI is committed to providing a level playing field for all FRFI sectors (which entails the consistent interpretation and application of FRFI legislation). While the Guidelines applicable to each financial sector achieve the same objectives, the use of different industry specific terminology and slightly different threshold values suggests that the regimes differ.

III. Objectives

In modifying the materiality criteria, OSFI seeks to:

  1. reduce the risk that FRFIs may be undertaking inappropriate or unsafe related party transactions, and

  2. ensure its guidance is current, clear, relevant and supportive of OSFI’s commitment to a level playing field.

IV. Options Identification and Assessment

Option 1— Status Quo

Under this option OSFI would continue to deal with case-by-case misinterpretations of the E-6 Guidelines through the approval and supervisory processes.

This option would not address the objectives listed above, which poses a potential cost to FRFIs and depositors or policyholders. Under this option there would be no additional benefits to FRFIs, depositors, policyholders or OSFI.

Option 2 – Guidelines remain unchanged with an increase in on-site examination

Under this option, OSFI supervisors would be required to conduct supervisory reviews of each FRFI to ensure that the policy intent of the regime and the application of the E-6 Guidelines are being correctly followed by the FRFIs. These focused reviews could identify specific common misinterpretations of the Guidelines that could be addressed through the issuance of further guidance notes.

Under this option, depositors and policyholders would benefit because FRFIs that were misinterpreting the Guidelines and, as a consequence, possibly undertaking inappropriate related party transactions, would be identified and appropriate remedial actions taken. Moreover, this option would benefit FRFIs because they would be receiving specific tailored input from OSFI regarding their procedures.

However, this option would require OSFI to devote additional time and resources to complete on-site examination work. The reduced reliance OSFI would be placing on FRFI management and boards for ensuring compliance with applicable legislation and guidelines runs counter to its overall reliance-based regime. Further, the introduction of mandatory supervisory reviews would deviate from OSFI’s risk-based supervisory approach, with the result that supervisory focus could be diverted from large risk issues to compliance issues. This option would result in additional costs to OSFI that would be passed on to the FRFIs.

Finally, this approach would likely lead to the issuance of additional guidance, which would require additional OSFI resources to produce.

Option 3 - Clarify, update and harmonize the guidelines

The revised Guidelines would be clarified and updated with respect to changes in the FRFI legislation. This would cause some categories to be eliminated and, to improve clarity, some new, more descriptive categories to be introduced. The industry specific Guidelines would be consolidated into a single Guideline and harmonized for all institutions, which would create some minor changes for each sector.

This option would require FRFIs to modify their procedures to varying degrees to comply with the new regime. OSFI is of the view that these costs should be minimal.

This option will benefit the interests of depositors and policyholders of FRFIs that have been misinterpreting the Guidelines by reducing the likelihood of undetected inappropriate related party transactions that could affect the safety and soundness of the FRFI.

The materiality criteria would be clarified while maintaining OSFI’s risk-based supervisory approach and reliance-based regulatory regime. Moreover, FRFIs would benefit from a level playing field, as each industry sector would be subject to the same criteria.

V. Consultations

OSFI sought the views of selected FRFIs representing all industry sectors and having various sizes and ownership structures prior to preparing an initial Draft Guideline. These discussions provided insights into the areas of common misunderstanding that required additional clarity. The initial Draft Guideline was discussed with the same group on an informal basis and appropriate changes were made. Subsequently, broad industry consultation was undertaken through industry associationsFootnote 3. Appropriate changes were made to the Guideline as a result of these consultations.

VI. Recommendation

Option 3 addresses all objectives outlined above and provides the most effective means of safeguarding depositor and policyholder interests while permitting FRFIs to undertake limited nominal or immaterial related party transactions. This option would be less resource intensive than Option 2 and would more appropriately align with OSFI’s framework of risk-based supervision and reliance-based regulation.

VII. Implementation and Evaluation

Directors of FRFIs are required to report to OSFI annually on the CRC’s activities during the year with respect to carrying out its responsibilities to establish and review procedures for complying with the self-dealing regime.Footnote 4 When the revised Guideline is issued, OSFI will recommend that it be referred to the CRCs of FRFIs for review. The CRC’s review would be evident in its annual report to OSFI and would be further evidenced in the minutes of the CRC. Through examination of the CRC annual report to OSFI as well as selected CRC minutes, OSWI would be able to evaluate if FRFIs have taken into consideration the revised E-6 Guideline and to ensure that appropriate revised procedures have been implemented.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Canadian banks, trust and loan companies, life insurance companies, property and casualty insurance companies, and cooperative credit associations incorporated or formed under an Act of Parliament

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The exception for nominal or immaterial value transactions is found in section 490 of the Bank Act, section 478 of the Trust and Loan Companies Act, section 522 of the Insurance Companies Act and section 414 of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The industry associations consulted were the Canadian Bankers Association, the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association, and the Insurance Bureau of Canada.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

ICA S.204(6), BA S.195(6), TLCA S.199(6), CCAA S.200(6).

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Critères d’importance concernant les opérations avec apparentés

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : août 2008
  • No : E-6

I. Contexte

Les parties XI de la Loi sur les banques, de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt et de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurance et la partie XII de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit précisent l’identité des apparentés des institutions financières fédéralesNote de bas de page 1 (IFF ou institution) et établissent les règles qui régissent les opérations avec apparentés. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, une institution ne peut effectuer directement ou indirectement une opération avec un apparenté. En vertu de l’une de ces exceptions, une institution peut effectuer avec un apparenté une opération dont la valeur est nominale ou peu importante selon les critères d’évaluation établis par le comité de révision de ces institutions et agréés par écrit par le surintendantNote de bas de page 2. Les lignes directrices intitulées Critères d’importance concernant les opérations avec apparentés (lignes directrices E-6) établissent les critères en fonction desquels il convient de déterminer si une opération avec un apparenté est nominale ou peu importante au sens de la législation. L’institution qui adopte des critères d’importance relative au moins aussi rigoureux que ceux énoncés dans les lignes directrices de son secteur respectif est réputée avoir reçu la sanction du BSIF.

II. Définition du problème

1. Clarté des lignes directrices

La nécessité de préparer la note d’orientation d’octobre 2001 à l’égard de la ligne directrice à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie laisse entendre qu’il y aurait peut-être lieu de préciser dans les lignes directrices E-6 actuelles les types d’opérations inclus dans chaque catégorie. Au moment où la note a été publiée, le BSIF avait indiqué qu’il avait l’intention d’amorcer un examen complet des lignes directrices E-6.

Des consignes qui ne sont pas claires peuvent entraîner certains risques. Premièrement, l’institution pourrait effectuer des opérations avec apparentés non autorisées. Deuxièmement, elle pourrait mal interpréter les lignes directrices et penser qu’elles autorisent des opérations avec apparentés qui en fait sont interdites, d’où des pertes éventuelles. Troisièmement, l’institution pourrait aussi être exposée à un risque d’atteinte à la réputation si elle effectue des opérations inadéquates découlant d’une interprétation erronée des consignes.

2. Pertinence des lignes directrices

Le BSIF est déterminé à veiller à ce que ses consignes demeurent pertinentes. Si des changements législatifs significatifs sont apportés au régime des opérations avec apparentés, il faut examiner et modifier les catégories d’importance relative figurant dans les lignes directrices.

Par exemple, avant les changements législatifs de 1997, le comité de révision était tenu d’approuver toutes les opérations avec apparentés (même celles autorisées en vertu de la législation) et être convaincu que les modalités de chaque opération étaient à tout le moins aussi favorables à l’institution que les conditions du marché. Cependant, il ne fallait pas la sanction du comité pour les opérations avec apparentés à valeur peu importante. Ainsi, pour alléger la tâche du comité, le BSIF a inclus dans les lignes directrices certaines opérations avec apparentés autorisées qui sont effectuées dans le cours normal des activités. Conformément à la législation en vigueur, le comité est tenu d’examiner seulement les procédures de conformité au régime des opérations avec apparentés. Les critères d’importance relative à l’égard des opérations avec apparentés autorisées ne sont donc plus nécessaires.

3. Lignes directrices différentes pour les secteurs

Le BSIF est résolu à uniformiser les règles du jeu pour tous les secteurs des institutions financières fédérales (ce qui veut dire une interprétation et une application uniformes des lois qui les régissent). Bien que les lignes directrices visant chaque secteur financier visent les mêmes objectifs, l’utilisation d’une terminologie propre à l’industrie et de valeurs seuils sensiblement différentes laissent entendre que les régimes varient.

III. Objectifs

En modifiant les critères d’importance relative, le BSIF vise à :

  1. atténuer le risque qu’une institution effectue des opérations avec apparentés inadéquates ou non sécuritaires;

  2. faire en sorte que ses consignes correspondent aux besoins actuels et demeurent claires, pertinentes et conformes à l’engagement pris par le BSIF d’offrir des règles du jeu équitables.

IV. Recensement et évaluation des options

Option 1 - Statu quo

Résultat, le BSIF continuerait à traiter au cas par cas les problèmes d’interprétation des lignes directrices E-6 au moyen des processus d’approbation et de surveillance.

Cette option ne permet pas de satisfaire aux objectifs mentionnés ci-dessus. Il pourrait y aurait éventuellement un coût pour les institutions et les déposants ou les souscripteurs. En outre, elle ne comporte aucun avantage supplémentaire pour les institutions, les déposants, les souscripteurs et le BSIF.

Option 2 – Ne pas modifier les lignes directrices et augmenter le nombre d’inspections sur place

Résultat, les surveillants du BSIF devraient soumettre les institutions financières à des inspections de surveillance pour veiller à ce qu’elles respectent l’esprit stratégique du régime et appliquent correctement les lignes directrices E-6. Ces inspections ciblées pourraient permettre de cerner les mauvaises interprétations communes des lignes directrices et la situation pourrait être rectifiée grâce à la publication d’autres notes d’orientation.

Cette option serait profitable pour les déposants et les souscripteurs, car les IFF qui interprétaient mal les lignes directrices et qui effectuaient peut-être donc des opérations avec apparentés inadéquates seraient recensées et les mesures correctrices qui s’imposent seraient prises. De plus, les IFF y trouveraient aussi leur compte, car le BSIF leur transmettrait une rétroaction adaptée à leurs besoins à l’égard de leurs procédures.

Toutefois, si cette option était retenue, le BSIF devrait consacrer plus de temps et de ressources aux inspections sur place. En ayant moins recours à la direction et au conseil d’administration des institutions pour garantir l’observation des lois et des lignes directrices applicables, le BSIF s’écarterait d’un de ses principes fondamentaux. En outre, l’introduction d’inspections de surveillance obligatoires irait à l’encontre de l’approche de surveillance axée sur les risques, de sorte que le point de mire de la surveillance pourrait passer des questions propres aux risques importants à des questions de conformité. Cette option occasionnerait des coûts supplémentaires pour le BSIF, qui seraient transférés aux institutions.

Enfin, il faudrait probablement, en bout de ligne, publier d’autres consignes et le BSIF devrait y consacrer des ressources additionnelles.

Option 3 — Clarifier, mettre à jour et harmoniser les lignes directrices

Résultat, des lignes directrices plus claires et qui refléteront fidèlement les modifications apportées à la législation visant les institutions financières fédérales. Ainsi, certaines catégories seraient éliminées et, au nom de la clarté, des catégories plus descriptives seraient introduites. Les lignes directrices qui ciblent précisément les institutions financières fédérales seraient regroupées en un seul document et harmonisées pour l’ensemble des institutions, d’où certains changements mineurs pour chaque secteur.

Si cette option était retenue, les institutions devraient modifier à divers degrés leurs procédures pour se conformer au nouveau régime. Le BSIF estime que les coûts en découlant seraient minimes.

Cette option serait bénéfique pour les déposants et les souscripteurs qui ont peine à interpréter correctement les lignes directrices puisqu’elle diminuerait la probabilité que des opérations avec apparentés inadéquates influant sur la sûreté et la solidité de l’IFF ne puissent être décelées.

Les critères d’importance relative seraient plus précis tandis que l’approche de surveillance axée sur les risques et le régime de réglementation s’appuyant sur le recours du BSIF seraient maintenus. De plus, les règles du jeu seraient équitables pour toutes les institutions financières fédérales, car chaque secteur de l’industrie serait assujetti aux mêmes critères.

V. Consultations

Avant d’amorcer la préparation de la première version de cette ligne directrice, le BSIF a sollicité l’opinion d’institutions financières fédérales choisies, de tailles et de structures de propriété diverses, représentant tous les secteurs de l’industrie. Ces échanges ont permis de cerner des points communs qui étaient mal interprétés et qu’il fallait préciser. La première version de la ligne directrice a fait l’objet d’entretiens avec les mêmes interlocuteurs et les changements qui s’imposaient lui ont été apportés. Par la suite, les associations intéresséesNote de bas de page 3 ont procédé à une vaste consultation à l’échelle de l’industrie. Des modifications pertinentes ont été apportées aux lignes directrices par suite de ces consultations.

VI. Recommandation

L’option 3 tient compte de tous les objectifs mentionnés et offre le moyen le plus efficace de sauvegarder les intérêts des déposants et des souscripteurs tout en autorisant les institutions financières fédérales à effectuer des opérations avec apparentés ayant une valeur nominale limitée ou peu importante. Cette option exigerait moins de ressources que l’option 2 et s’inscrirait plus adéquatement dans le cadre de surveillance axée sur les risques et de réglementation s’appuyant sur le recours appliqué par le BSIF.

VII. Mise en œuvre et évaluation

Les directeurs des institutions financières fédérales doivent rendre compte une fois l’an au BSIF des activités de leur comité de révision pendant l’exercice pour ce qui est de s’acquitter de la responsabilité d’établir des procédures pour se conformer au régime des opérations avec apparentésNote de bas de page 4 et de les examiner. Une fois la ligne directrice révisée, le BSIF recommandera de la certains proces-verbaux, le BSIF serait en mesure d'evaluer si les IFF ont pris en compte les lignes directrices E-6 revisees et de veiller a ce que les nouvelles procedures adequates soient mises en oeuvre.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les banques, sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, sociétés d’assurance-vie, sociétés d’assurances multirisques et associations canadiennes constituées ou formées sous le régime d’une loi du Parlement.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

L’exception à l’égard des opérations à valeur nominale ou peu importante est énoncée à l’article 490 de la Loi sur les banques, à l’article 478 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, à l’article 522 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances et à l’article 414 de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

L’Association des banquiers canadiens, l’Association canadiennes des compagnies d’assurances de personnes inc. et le Bureau d’assurance du Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

LSA par. 204(6), LB par. (6), LSFP par. 199(6), LACC par. 200(6).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4