Revised standards of practice for calculating commuted values

  1. Does Section 3500 of the revised Standards of Practice for Pension Plans – Pension Commuted Values (revised standards of practice) of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries apply to federally regulated pension plans?

    Yes. Subsection 18(1) of the Pensions Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (PBSR) provides that a pension benefit credit (the commuted value of a pension benefit) must be determined in accordance with the Recommendations for the Computation of Transfer Values from Registered Pension Plans effective September 1, 1993, issued by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries as amended from time to time. The revised standards of practice therefore automatically apply to the calculation of a commuted value under the PBSR.

  2. When are the revised standards of practice coming into effect?

    The revised standards of practice take effect on December 1, 2020.

  3. What are the key changes to Section 3500 of the revised standards of practice?

    The key changes to the revised standards of practice for calculating commuted values are:

    • changes to the methodology used to calculate the underlying interest rate assumption  
    • changes to the pension commencement age assumption
    • the addition of specific standards for target pension arrangements including the ability to use a pension plan’s going concern funding assumptions with certain adjustments

    Please see the website of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries for details on all the changes to Section 3500 of the revised standards of practice.

  4. What are target pension arrangements?

    A target pension arrangement is a new term that is defined in paragraph 3570.01 of the revised standards of practice as
    “a pension plan for which applicable legislation contemplates the reduction to the accrued pensions of plan members and beneficiaries while the pension plan is ongoing as one of the available options for maintaining the funded status of the pension plan, and where the reduction in accrued pensions is not necessarily caused by the financial distress of the plan sponsor or sponsors”.

  5. Are negotiated contribution plans considered target pension arrangements?

    Yes. A negotiated contribution plan as defined in subsection 2(1) of the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (PBSA), meets the Canadian Institute of Actuaries’ definition of a target pension arrangement. This is because section 10.11 of the PBSA provides that the administrator of a negotiated contribution plan may, subject to the Superintendent’s consent and despite the terms of the pension plan, make an amendment that has the effect of reducing pension benefits or pension benefit credits.

    The educational note issued in August 2020 by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries includes a confirmation that any pension plan that meets the definition, regardless of whether or not the plan is required to be funded on a solvency basis, and regardless of whether or not the contemplated reduction to accrued pensions is subject to any other conditions such as regulatory approval, is a target pension arrangement for purposes of Section 3500.

  6. Can a negotiated contribution plan be amended so that the determination of a commuted value be made using the adjustments contemplated in Subsection 3570 of the revised standards of practice?

    Subsection 3570 of the revised standards of practice provides that, if required by the terms of the plan or by applicable legislation, an actuary may adjust the assumptions used to calculate the commuted value of a pension benefit, or the actuarial value of the benefit entitlement

    • to include margins for adverse deviations;
    • to include administrative expenses; and
    • to reflect the funded status of the pension plan or to reflect the member’s share of the plan assets.

    These adjustments are not required by the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (PBSA) or the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985.

    An amendment to a negotiated contribution plan to permit adjustments to the assumptions used in the determination of commuted values to include margins for adverse deviations or reflect administrative expenses would not require the Superintendent’s authorization pursuant to subsection 10.1(2) of the PBSA.

    An amendment to a negotiated contribution plan that would permit adjustments to the commuted value to reflect the funded status of the pension plan would result in a reduction of an accrued benefit if the plan was not fully funded. Therefore, OSFI would consider such an amendment void under subsection 10.1(2) of the PBSA without the Superintendent’s authorization. Please refer to the instruction guide for the Authorization of Amendments Reducing Benefits in Defined Benefit Pension Plans for more information.

  7. Can the funded status of a negotiated contribution pension plan be used for the determination of commuted values for the solvency valuation included in an actuarial report?

    No adjustment to reflect the funded status of a pension plan should be made for the purpose of a solvency valuation included in an actuarial report. Please refer to the instruction guide for the Preparation of Actuarial Reports for Defined Benefit Pension Plans for more information.

  8. Is early adoption of the revised standards of practice for target pension arrangements permitted?

    While the Actuarial Standards Board (ASB) allows for early adoption of the revised standards of practice for target pension arrangements if all the revisions are adopted at the same time for a particular pension plan, the revised standards of practice do not come into effect until December 1, 2020.

    Subsection 18(1) of the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (PBSR) provides that a pension benefit credit (the commuted value of a pension benefit) must be determined in accordance with the Recommendations for the Computation of Transfer Values from Registered Pension Plans effective September 1, 1993 issued by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries as amended from time to time. Notwithstanding the ASB’s permissive stance on early adoption, prior to December 1, the standards would not yet be considered amended so the PBSR does not allow for early adoption of the revised standards of practice.

  9. How will the Directives of the Superintendent pursuant to the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 apply to negotiated contribution plans?

    OSFI is currently reviewing the Directives of the Superintendent pursuant to the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 to determine how they will apply to negotiated contribution plans.

  10. For a negotiated contribution plan that is also multi-jurisdictional, are the commuted values determined in the same manner for all members?

    A multi-jurisdictional pension plan is an employment-based pension plan with members in more than one jurisdiction, whether federal or provincial.

    Jurisdictions may have different legislative requirements that determine how to calculate commuted values for plans that meet the definition of a target pension arrangement, as defined in paragraph 3570.01 of the revised standards of practice. Therefore, the calculation of a commuted value may be different for members whose benefits are subject to the Pensions Benefits Standards Act, 1985 and those that are subject to provincial pension legislation.

Normes de pratique révisées en 2020 applicables au calcul des valeurs actualisées

  1. La section 3500 des Normes de pratique révisées applicables aux régimes de retraite – Valeurs actualisées des rentes (normes de pratique révisées) de l’Institut canadien des actuaires s’applique-t-elle aux régimes de retraite fédéraux?

    Oui. Le paragraphe 18(1) du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (RNPP) stipule que les droits à pension (la valeur actualisée d’une rente) doivent être calculés conformément aux Recommandations pour le calcul des valeurs de transfert des régimes de retraite agréés de l’Institut canadien des actuaires, entrées en vigueur le 1er septembre 1993, avec leurs modifications successives. Il en ressort que les normes de pratique révisées s’appliquent automatiquement au calcul des valeurs actualisées aux termes du RNPP.

  2. À quel moment les normes de pratique révisées entreront-elles en vigueur?

    Les normes de pratique révisées entrent en vigueur le 1er décembre 2020.

  3. Quelles sont les principales modifications apportées à la section 3500 des normes de pratique révisées?

    Les principales modifications apportées aux normes de pratique révisées applicables au calcul des valeurs actualisées sont les suivantes :

    • modification de la méthode utilisée pour calculer l’hypothèse sous‑jacente de taux d’intérêt;
    • modification de l’âge supposé du commencement des prestations;
    • ajout de normes particulières sur les arrangements prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles, y compris la capacité d’employer les hypothèses de provisionnement en continuité d’un régime, moyennant certains rajustements.

    Veuillez consulter le site Web de l’Institut canadien des actuaires pour obtenir des précisions sur toutes les modifications apportées à la section 3500 des normes de pratique révisées.

  4. Qu’est-ce qu’un arrangement prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles?

    Un arrangement prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles est un nouveau terme défini au paragraphe 3570.01 des normes de pratique révisées comme suit : « est un régime de retraite pour lequel les lois applicables prévoient, comme l’un des moyens possibles de maintenir le niveau de provisionnement du régime, de réduire les rentes accumulées des participants ou des bénéficiaires pendant que le régime est en cours d’existence et pour lequel la réduction des rentes accumulées n’est pas forcément causée par le fait que le ou les promoteurs du régime éprouvent des difficultés financières ».

  5. Les régimes à cotisations négociées sont-ils considérés comme des arrangements prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles?

    Oui. Un régime à cotisations négociées au sens de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (LNPP) correspond à la définition que donne l’Institut canadien des actuaires d’un arrangement prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles. Il en est ainsi parce que l’article 10.11 de la LNPP prévoit que l’administrateur d’un régime à prestations négociées peut, sous réserve de l’accord du surintendant et malgré les dispositions du régime, adopter une modification qui a pour effet de réduire les prestations de pension ou les droits à pension.

    Dans sa note éducative publiée en août 2020, l’Institut canadien des actuaires confirme qu’un régime de retraite qui répond à cette définition, qu’il soit tenu ou non d’être provisionné sur une base de solvabilité, et que la réduction envisagée des prestations constituées soit ou non assujettie à d’autres conditions comme l’agrément réglementaire, est un arrangement prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles aux fins de la section 3500.

  6. Un régime à cotisations négociées peut-il être modifié de façon que la détermination d’une valeur actualisée puissent être faites en utilisant les rajustements envisagés à la sous‑section 3570 des normes de pratique révisées?

    Il est prévu à la sous-section 3570 des normes de pratique révisées que, si les dispositions du régime ou les lois pertinentes l’exigent, un actuaire peut rajuster les hypothèses utilisées pour calculer la valeur actualisée d’une prestation de pension ou la valeur actuarielle des droits aux prestations :

    • pour inclure des marges pour écarts défavorables;
    • pour inclure les frais d’administration;
    • pour tenir compte du niveau de provisionnement du régime de retraite ou de la quote‑part du participant dans l’actif du régime.

    Ces rajustements ne sont pas exigés par la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (LNPP) ou le Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension.

    La modification d’un régime à cotisations négociées visant à autoriser le rajustement des hypothèses utilisées pour déterminer les valeurs actualisées afin d’inclure des marges pour écarts défavorables ou pour refléter les frais d’administration n’exigerait pas l’autorisation du surintendant en vertu du paragraphe 10.1(2) de la LNPP.

    La modification d’un régime à cotisations négociées qui permettrait de rajuster les valeurs actualisées pour refléter le niveau de provisionnement du régime aurait pour conséquence une réduction de la prestation accumulée si toutes le régime n’est pas entièrement capitalisé. Par conséquent, le BSIF considérerait qu’une telle modification est nulle en vertu du paragraphe 10.1(2) de la LNPP sans l’autorisation du surintendant. Pour plus de précisions, veuillez consulter le guide d’instructions du BSIF intitulé Demande de modification visant à réduire les prestations versées au titre d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées.

  7. Le niveau de provisionnement d’un régime à cotisations négociées peut-il être utilisé pour déterminer les valeurs actualisées pour l'évaluation de la solvabilité incluse dans un rapport actuariel?

    Aucun ajustement en fonction du niveau de provisionnement d’un régime de retraite ne doit être effectué aux fins de l’évaluation de solvabilité incluse dans un rapport actuariel. Pour plus de précisions, veuillez consulter le guide d’instructions du BSIF intitulé Production du rapport actuariel d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées.

  8. L’adoption anticipée des normes révisées au titre des arrangements prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles est‑elle permise?

    Même si le Conseil des normes actuarielles (CNA) autorise l’adoption anticipée des normes de pratique révisées pour les arrangements prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles si toutes les révisions sont adoptées en même temps au titre d’un régime de retraite en particulier, les normes de pratique révisées n’entrent pas en vigueur avant le 1er décembre 2020.

    Le paragraphe 18(1) du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (RNPP) stipule que les droits à pension (la valeur actualisée d’une rente) doivent être calculés conformément aux Recommandations pour le calcul des valeurs de transfert des régimes de retraite agréés de l’Institut canadien des actuaires, entrées en vigueur le 1er septembre 1993, avec leurs modifications successives. Nonobstant la position permissive du CNA au sujet de l’adoption anticipée avant le 1er décembre, comme les normes de pratique révisées ne seraient pas encore considérées comme modifiées, le RNPP ne permet pas leur adoption anticipée.

  9. Comment les Directives du surintendant conformément à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension s’appliqueront‑elles aux régimes à cotisations négociées?

    Le BSIF a révisé les Directives du surintendant en vertu de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension afin de tenir compte des normes de pratique révisées. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter nos Directives du surintendant – Foire aux questions.

  10. Dans le cas d’un régime à cotisations négociées qui relève également de plus d’une autorité gouvernementale, les valeurs actualisées sont-elles déterminées de la même façon pour tous les participants?

    Les régimes de retraite relevant de plus d’une autorité gouvernementale sont des régimes de retraite fondés sur l’emploi dont les participants relèvent de plus d’une autorité gouvernementale, du palier fédéral ou provincial.

    Les administrations peuvent appliquer des exigences législatives différentes qui déterminent la façon de calculer les valeurs actualisées pour les régimes qui correspondent à la définition d’un arrangement prévoyant le versement de prestations cibles, au sens du paragraphe 3570.01 des normes de pratique révisées. Par conséquent, le calcul de la valeur actualisée peut être différent pour les participants dont les prestations sont assujettis à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension par rapport à ceux qui sont assujettis à des lois ou règlements provinciaux sur les pensions.