Substantial Investments - Appendix B.1

Appendix B.1 – Banks and BHCs
Investments for a Limited Period of Time

This document has been prepared for convenience of reference only and has no official sanction. For all purposes of interpreting and applying the law, users should consult the BA.

Notes:

In this Appendix,

  • abbreviations and capitalized terms have the meaning ascribed to them on pages 1 and 2 of the Advisory; and
  • references to provisions are to those of the BA.

Temporary investment

[466(3)(a) and
471; 928(3)(a) and 933]

A bank or BHC may acquire control of, or acquire or increase a substantial investment in, any entity as a temporary investment [471(1) and 933(1)].

Holding period:

  • Where the entity is not a PE only because the bank or BHC did not obtain the Minister's approval under subsection 468(5) or 930(5), the bank or BHC may hold control of, or a substantial investment in, the entity for (a) 90 days, or (b) over 90 days where the bank or BHC requests, within 90 days of acquiring control of, or acquiring or increasing a substantial investment in, the entity, the Minister's approval to extend the holding period [471(4) and 933(3)]. At the bank or BHC's request, the Minister may (a) allow the bank or BHC to reclassify the investment under the PE category [466(6), (7) and 468(5); 928(5), (6) and 930(5)] or (b) extend the holding period, including for an indeterminate period [471(4) and 933(3)].
  • Where the entity is not a PE only because the bank or BHC did not obtain the Superintendent's approval under subsection 468(6) or 930(6), the bank or BHC may hold control of, or a substantial investment in, the entity for 2 years or such other period specified by the Superintendent [471(1) and 933(1)]. At the bank or BHC's request, the Superintendent may (a) allow the bank or BHC to reclassify the investment under the PE category [466(6), (7) and 468(6); 928(5), (6) and 930(6)] or (b) extend the holding period for one or more finite periods [471(3) and 933(3)] or for an indeterminate period [471(5) and 933(4)].
  • In all other cases, the bank or BHC may hold control of, or a substantial investment in, the entity for 2 years or such other period specified by the Superintendent [471(1) and 933(1)]. At the bank or BHC's request, the Superintendent may extend the holding period for one or more finite periods [471(3) and 933(2)].

Loan workout

[466(3)(b) and
472; 928(3)(b) and 934]

Where an entity is in default with respect to a loan that:

  • a bank or its subsidiary has made to the entity, the bank or the subsidiary may acquire all or any of the shares of, or ownership interests in, (i) the entity, (ii) any affiliates of the entity, or (iii) an entity that is primarily engaged in holding shares of, ownership interests in, or assets acquired from, the entity to which the loan was made or any affiliates of the entity to which the loan was made; or
  • a BHC's subsidiary has made to the entity, the BHC may, through its subsidiary, acquire a substantial investment in (i) the entity, (ii) any affiliates of the entity, or (iii) an entity that is primarily engaged in the holding of shares of, ownership interests in, or assets acquired from, the entity to which the loan was made or any affiliates of the entity to which the loans was made. [472(1) and 934(1)]

Despite (a) and (b) above, where a foreign government, or an entity controlled by a foreign government, is in default with respect to a loan from, or debt obligations held by, a bank or a subsidiary of a BHC, the BHC, via its subsidiary, or the bank may acquire all or any of the shares of, or ownership interests in, the entity or any other entity designated by the foreign government, if the acquisition is part of a debt restructuring program [472(5) and 934(4)]. The bank or BHC may hold those shares or ownership interests for a period specified by the Superintendent, including for an indeterminate period [472(6) and 934(5)].

Holding period:

With respect to (a) and (b) above:

  • the bank or BHC may hold control of, or a substantial investment in, the entity for 5 years [472(2) and 934(2)] or longer where the Superintendent grants an extension [472(4) and 934(3)]; and
  • where the entity is not a PE only because the bank or BHC did not obtain the Superintendent's or the Minister's approval under section 468 or 930, the bank or BHC may hold control of, or a substantial investment in, the entity for an indeterminate period where the bank or BHC, within the holding period described above, (a) reclassifies the investment under the PE category, with the Superintendent's or the Minister's approval [466(6), (7) and 468; 928(5), (6) and 930] or (b) obtains the Minister's approval [472(7) and 934(6)].

Realization of a security interest

[466(3)(c) and
473; 928(3)(c) and 935]

A bank or BHC may, through the realization of a security interest held by the bank or a subsidiary of the bank or BHC, acquire control of, or acquire or increase a substantial investment in, any entity [473(1) and 935(1)].

Holding period:

  • The bank or BHC may hold control of, or a substantial investment in, the entity for 5 years [473(2) and 935(2)] or longer where the Superintendent grants an extension [473(4) and 935(3)].
  • Where the entity is not a PE only because the bank or BHC did not obtain the Superintendent's or the Minister's approval under section 468 or 930, the bank or BHC may hold control of, or a substantial investment in, the entity for an indeterminate period where the bank or BHC, within the holding period described above, (a) reclassifies the investment under the PE category, with the Superintendent's or the Minister's approval [466(6), (7) and 468; 928(5), (6) and 930] or (b) obtains the Minister's approval [473(5) and 935(4)].

Intérêts de groupe financier - Annexe B.1

Annexe B.1 – Banques et SPB
Placements pour une période limitée

Le présent document a été préparé à titre indicatif et n’a pas été sanctionné officiellement. Aux fins de l’interprétation de la législation, les utilisateurs doivent consulter la LB.

Notes

  1. Les abréviations figurant aux présentes sont définies aux pages 1 et 2 du préavis.
  2. Les dispositions mentionnées aux présentes sont celles de la LB.

Placement provisoire

[466(3)a) et 471; 928(3)a) et 933]

Une banque ou une SPB peut, au moyen d’un placement provisoire, acquérir le contrôle d’une entité ou acquérir ou augmenter un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci [471(1) et 933(1)].

Période de détention :

  • Si l’entité n’est pas une EA du seul fait que la banque ou la SPB n’a pas obtenu au préalable l’agrément du ministre en vertu du paragraphe 468(5) ou 930(5), la banque ou la SPB peut détenir le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci a) soit pendant 90 jours, b)soit pendant plus de 90 jours lorsque la banque ou la SPB demande au ministre,dans les 90 jours suivant l’acquisition du contrôle de l’entité ou l’acquisition ou l’augmentation d’un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci, l’autorisation de prolonger la période de détention[471(4) et 933(3)]. Sur demande de la banque ou de la SPB, le ministre peut a) soit permettre à la banque ou à la SPB de reclasser le placement dans la catégorie EA [466(6), (7) et 468(5); 928(5), (6) et 930(5)], b) soit prolonger la période de détention, y compris pour une période indéterminée [471(4) et 933(3)].
  • Si l’entité n’est pas une EA du seul fait que la banque ou la SPB n’a pas obtenu au préalable l’agrément du surintendant en vertu du paragraphe 468(6) ou 930(6), la banque ou la SPB peut détenir le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci pendant 2 ans ou pour toute autre période spécifiée par le surintendant [471(1) et 933(1)]. Sur demande de la banque ou de la SPB, le surintendant peut a) soit permettre à la banque ou à la SPB de reclasser le placement dans la catégorie EA [466(6), (7) et 468(6); 928(5), (6) et 930(6)], b) soit prolonger la période de détention pour une ou pour plusieurs périodes déterminées [471(3) et 933(3)] ou encore pour une période indéterminée [471(5) et 933(4)].
  • Dans tous les autres cas, la banque ou la SPB peut détenir le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci pendant 2 ans ou pour toute autre période spécifiée par le surintendant [471(1) et 933(1)]. Sur demande de la banque ou de la SPB, le surintendant peut prolonger la période de détention pour une ou pour plusieurs périodes déterminées [471(3) et 933(2)].

Défaut sur un prêt

[466(3)b) et 472; 928(3)b) et 934]

Si une entité est en situation de défaut à l’égard d’un prêt :

  • qu’une banque ou une de ses filiales lui a consenti, la banque ou la filiale peut acquérir la totalité ou une partie des actions ou titres de participation (i) de l’entité, (ii) d’une entité qui est du même groupe que l’entité, ou (iii) d’une entité qui s’occupe principalement de détenir des actions ou titres de participation, ou des éléments d’actif acquis, de l’entité à laquelle le prêt a été consenti ou d’une entité qui est du même groupe que cette entité;
  • qu’une filiale d’une SPB lui a consenti, la SPB peut, par l’intermédiaire de sa filiale, acquérir un intérêt de groupe financier dans (i) l’entité, (ii) une entité qui est du même groupe que l’entité, ou (iii) une entité qui s’occupe principalement de détenir des actions ou titres de participation, ou des éléments d’actif acquis, de l’entité à laquelle le prêt a été consenti ou d’une entité qui est du même groupe que cette entité. [472(1) et 934(1)]

Malgré a) et b), lorsqu’un gouvernement étranger ou une entité contrôlée par un gouvernement étranger est en situation de défaut à l’égard d’un prêt consenti ou d’un titre de créance détenue par une banque ou une filiale de la SPB, cette dernière, par l’intermédiaire de sa filiale, ou la banque peut acquérir la totalité ou une partie des actions ou titres de participation de l’entité ou de toute autre entité désignée par le gouvernement étranger, si l’acquisition fait partie d’un programme de réaménagement de la dette publique du même gouvernement [472(5) et 934(4)]. La banque ou la SPB peut détenir ces actions ou titres de participation pendant la période spécifiée par le surintendant, y compris pour une période indéterminée [472(6) et 934(5)].

Période de détention :
En ce qui concerne a) et b) :

  • la banque ou la SPB peut détenir le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci pendant ans [472(2) et 934(2)] ou pour une période plus longue si le surintendant autorise une prolongation [472(4) et 934(3)];
  • si l’entité n’est pas une EA du seul fait que la banque ou la SPB n’a pas obtenu au préalable l’agrément du surintendant ou du ministre en vertu de l’article 468 ou 930, la banque ou la SPB peut détenir le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci pour une période indéterminée si, au cours de la période de détention précitée, elle a) reclasse le placement dans la catégorie EA, avec l’agrément du surintendant ou du ministre [466(6), (7) et 468; 928(5), (6) et 930], ou b) obtient l’agrément du ministre [472(7) et 934(6)].

Réalisation d’une sûreté

[466(3)c) et 473; 928(3)c) et 935]

Une banque ou une SPB peut, du fait de la réalisation d’une sûreté détenue par la banque ou par une filiale de la banque ou de la SPB, acquérir le contrôle d’une entité ou acquérir ou augmenter un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci [473(1) et 935(1)].

Période de détention :

  • La banque ou la SPB peut détenir le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci pendant ans [472(2) et 934(2)] ou pour une période plus longue si le surintendant autorise une prolongation [473(4) et 935(3)].
  • Si l’entité n’est pas une EA du seul fait que la banque ou la SPB n’a pas obtenu au préalable l’agrément du surintendant ou du ministre en vertu de l’article 468 ou 930, la banque ou la SPB peut détenir le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci pour une période indéterminée si, au cours de la période de détention précitée, elle a) reclasse le placement dans la catégorie EA, avec l’agrément du surintendant ou du ministre [466(6), (7) et 468; 928(5), (6) et 930], ou b) obtient l’agrément du ministre [473(5) et 935(4)].