OSFI Service Standards

Type of Publication: Letter
Date: April 1, 2021
To: Federally Regulated Financial Institutions

In order to enhance its accountability and transparency, in 2005 OSFI developed service standards for services that it provides. In 2017, the Government of Canada introduced the Service Fees Act (the Act) to replace the 2004 User Fees Act. All government departments and agencies that charge fees for services are impacted by this legislation, including OSFI.

The Act provides for

  • a streamlined approach to consultation and the approval of new or modified fees;
  • a requirement for services to have service standards and reporting against these standards, along with a policy to remit fees to fee payers when standards are not met;
  • an automatic annual fee adjustment by the Consumer Price Index to ensure that fees keep pace with inflation; and
  • annual detailed reporting to Parliament in order to increase transparency.

Fee-Based Service Standards

OSFI is subject to a service standard for fees that it collects pursuant to the Act. Service standards are integral to good client service and to effectively manage performance.

OSFI has redefined its existing service standards to reinforce client expectations and increase transparency and accountability. Learn more about OSFI's service standards.

The Act's reporting regime and the Directive on Charging and Special Financial Authorities requires all federal departments and agencies, including OSFI, to report to Parliament and to publish annually, details of each fee that is their respective department's authority to charge, such as type and rate of adjustment, the service standard and the performance result. The Fees Report is available on OSFI's website.

Remissions

If OSFI is unable to meet its service standards in relation to a fee-based application, we may reimburse the fee, or a portion of it, to the client pursuant to Section 7 of the Act. This requirement reinforces accountability around service delivery, and helps us set meaningful and realistic service expectations.

Pursuant to the Act and the Directive on Charging and Special Financial Authorities, OSFI developed a Remission Policy (the Policy) that ensures appropriate considerations for determining whether a service standard is not met and whether a remission is warranted. This Policy takes effect April 1, 2021.

OSFI's Fee Review Process

OSFI will, from time to time, review and update its fees, while continuing to implement the requirements of the Act. Our fee review process will ensure that we continue to provide the quality of service that stakeholders expect from us.

Since April 1, 2019, OSFI's fees have been adjusted by inflation annually pursuant to the Act and will be incorporated into our overall review process. We will engage our stakeholders prior to any other fee adjustments.

Feedback

To be consistent with the principles set out in the Government of Canada's Red Tape Reduction Action Plan, OSFI has developed a feedback process in the event you are not satisfied with the service received due to OSFI failing to meet the service standards. You can contact OSFI:

By Telephone: 1-800-385-8647 (8:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday through Friday)

By Fax: 613-990-5591

By Email:information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca

By Mail: Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada
255 Albert Street
12th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
K1A 0H2

OSFI reviews these standards on a regular basis with the benefit of experience and stakeholder feedback to ensure that they remain relevant and to allow for adjustments. Questions with respect to the service standards should be addressed to Patrick Clermont at (613) 949-8698, by facsimile (613) 991-0325 or by email at patrick.clermont@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Ben Gully

Assistant Superintendent
Regulation Sector

Normes de service du BSIF

Type de publication : Lettre
Date : 1er avril 2021
Destinataires : Institutions financières fédérales

Pour respecter son obligation de rendre des comptes et par souci de transparence, le BSIF a défini en 2005 des normes applicables à tous les services qu’il offre. En 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté la Loi sur les frais de service (la Loi) pour remplacer la Loi sur les frais d’utilisation adoptée en 2004. Elle s’applique à tous les ministères et autres organismes gouvernementaux qui perçoivent des droits de service, dont le BSIF.

La Loi prévoit :

  • une approche simplifiée en matière de consultation et d’approbation de droits nouveaux ou modifiés;
  • l’obligation d’adopter des normes de service et de présenter des rapports sur le respect de celles-ci, ainsi qu’une politique visant à remettre les droits aux utilisateurs lorsque les normes ne sont pas respectées;
  • un rajustement annuel automatique des droits en fonction de l’indice des prix à la consommation afin d’assurer que les droits suivent le rythme de l’inflation;
  • des rapports annuels détaillés au Parlement afin d’accroître la transparence.

Normes applicables aux services assujettis à des droits

En vertu de la Loi, le BSIF doit respecter des normes applicables aux services pour lesquels il perçoit des droits. Les normes de service sont la clé d’un bon service à la clientèle et d’une gestion efficace du rendement

Le BSIF a redéfini ses normes de service pour réaffirmer les attentes des clients, accroître la transparence et mieux respecter son obligation redditionnelle. Pour en savoir plus, consultez les normes de service du BSIF.

Conformément à la Loi et à la Directive sur l’imputation et les autorisations financières spéciales, tous les ministères et autres organismes fédéraux, dont le BSIF, doivent rendre des comptes au Parlement et publier annuellement une description détaillée (type et taux de rajustement, norme de service applicable, rendement, etc.) de tous les droits qu’ils exigent. Vous pouvez consulter le Rapport sur les frais sur le site Web du BSIF.

Remises

Si le BSIF n’est pas en mesure de respecter les normes de service qui s’appliquent à une demande assujettie à des droits, ces derniers pourraient être remboursés au client, en partie ou en totalité, conformément à l’article 7 de la Loi. Cette exigence resserre l’obligation du BSIF de rendre compte de la prestation des services et nous aide à établir des attentes appropriées et réalistes.

Conformément à la Directive sur l’imputation et les autorisations financières spéciales, le BSIF a élaboré une Politique de remise (la Politique) qui permet de cerner avec précision les cas de non-respect des normes de service et de déterminer si une remise est nécessaire. La Politique entre en vigueur le 1er avril 2021.

Processus d’examen des droits du BSIF

Le BSIF révise et met à jour à l’occasion les droits qu’il perçoit, tout en continuant de se conformer aux exigences de la Loi. Le processus d’examen des droits garantit que nous continuerons à offrir des services de qualité qui répondent aux attentes des intéressés.

Depuis le 1er avril 2019, les droits exigés par le BSIF sont rajustés annuellement en fonction de l’inflation, conformément à la Loi, et sont intégrés à notre processus global d’examen. Les intéressés seront consultés avant tout autre éventuel rajustement.

Commentaires

Conformément aux principes énoncés dans le Plan d’action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif du gouvernement du Canada, le BSIF a mis en place un processus de rétroaction pour les personnes qui estiment que le service reçu ne respecte pas les normes applicables. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec le BSIF :

Par téléphone : 1-800-385-8647 (de 8 h 30 à 18 h, heure de l’Est, du lundi au vendredi)

Par télécopieur : 613-990-5591

Par courriel :information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca

Par courrier : Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada
255, rue Albert, 12e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H2

Se basant sur son expérience et les commentaires des intéressés, le BSIF examine régulièrement ses normes pour s’assurer de leur pertinence et leur apporter les ajustements qui s’imposent. Les questions sur les normes de service doivent être adressées à Patrick Clermont, par téléphone au 613-949-8698, par télécopieur au 613-991-0325 ou par courriel à patrick.clermont@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Le surintendant auxiliaire,
Secteur de la réglementation,
Ben Gully