Filing Pension Plan Amendments using the Regulatory Reporting System (RRS)

  • Type of publication: Instruction Guide
  • Date: December 2020

General

The purpose of this instruction guide (the Guide) is to assist administrators of pension plans registered or having filed an application for registration under the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (PBSA) in filing plan amendments with the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI).

The Guide does not supersede the requirements of the PBSA, the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (the Regulations), the Directives of The Superintendent Pursuant To The Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (the Directives), or any related guidelines that OSFI has issued or may issue.

Who Must File

The administrator of a pension plan registered or having filed an application for registration under the PBSA must file with OSFI any amendment to a plan text or other document that creates or supports the plan along with a signed declaration that the plan, as amended, complies with the PBSA and the Regulations.

Filing Due Date

The amendment and declaration must be filed with OSFI within 60 days after it is made.

Filing Requirements

The administrator must file all regular amendments (and all other relevant documents) using the Regulatory Reporting System (RRS).

However, amendments requiring the Superintendent’s authorization (e.g. an amendment requiring authorization under subsection 10.1(2) of the PBSA, an amendment reflecting an asset transfer under section 10.2 of the PBSA, or an amendment to a multijurisdictional plan requiring authorization under provincial pension legislation) cannot be submitted using RRS. Documents in support of an application for the Superintendent’s authorization must be submitted electronically to pensions@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Plan Amendment Return - RRS Process

Creating a Plan Amendment Return in RRS

To file an amendment, the administrator must first create a Plan Amendment Return in RRS.

  1. In the Main Menu, hover over Manage Returns and select Create Return.
  2. Under Return Name write “Plan Amendment – No. XX (if applicable) – YYYY-MM-DD” the effective date of the amendment or amendments (if more that one). For example:
    • “Plan Amendment – No. 04 – 2021-01-01” or;
    • “Plan Amendment – 2020-11-15”.
  3. Under Select Form Set, choose PP1-Amendments to Pension Plans.  
  4. Under Enter earliest effective date of change contained in the return, enter the earliest effective date of the amendment or amendments. Amendments must have the same effective date if they are to be submitted in one return (i.e. a board resolution with multiple amendments effective the same day). If amendments have different effective dates, please submit a separate return for each.
  5. Click Create – the return will appear in the Draft Returns section found in the main menu.

For more information on creating returns in RRS, please consult the Manage Corporate Returns User Guide and other RRS training material available on the OSFI website. RRS training materials can also be found in RRS in the Documents folder under Training and Support.

Completing the Plan Amendment Return in RRS

Once in the Draft Returns tab, the administrator will be able to edit the content of the return by entering the information directly into the on-line web form. Select the name of the return that was just created. Select Edit. The information and documentation for the amendment can now be entered.

  • Line 1 – Enter the effective date of the amendment (or amendments if submitting more than one with the same effective date) using the following format YYYY-MM-DD.
  • Line 2 – Enter the amendment number (if applicable). If there is no amendment number, leave blank.
  • Line 3 – Select “Yes” or “No” to indicate the response to each question.

Additional Required Documents

Lines 4 through 6 require the administrator to upload documents.

As with other returns in the Draft Returns section, you can save this return in draft form until it is fully completed and ready to submit.

Submission of Plan Amendment Return

Once a return is ready to submit, go to the Submit Return sub-menu in the Submission section (found in the main menu). Select the Submit link in the Action column for the appropriate return.

Contact Us

For further information, please visit the OSFI website or contact us at:

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
255 Albert Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H2
Telephone: (613) 991-0609
E-mail: ReturnsAdmin@osfi-bsif.gc.ca

Production de renseignements sur la modification d’un régime de retraite au moyen du Système de déclaration réglementaire (SDR)

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Guide d'instructions
  • Date: Décembre 2020

Observations générales

L’objet du présent guide d’instructions (le « guide ») est d’aider les administrateurs de régimes de retraite agréés ou ayant présenté une demande d’agrément aux termes de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (LNPP) à informer le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) de la modification de leur régime.

Le guide ne remplace pas les exigences de la LNPP, du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (RNPP), des Directives du surintendant conformément à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (les « Directives ») ou de toute autre ligne directrice actuelle ou éventuelle du BSIF.

Qui doit produire des renseignements

L’administrateur d’un régime agréé ou pour lequel une demande d’agrément a été déposé aux termes de la LNPP doit communiquer au BSIF des renseignements sur toute modification qu’il entend apporter au texte du régime ou à un autre document constitutif ou accessoire, accompagnés d’une déclaration signée attestant que le régime modifié est conforme à la LNPP et au RNPP.

Date de production

Les renseignements sur la modification et la déclaration doivent être déposés auprès du BSIF dans les 60 jours qui suivent l’adoption de la modification.

Exigences de production

L’administrateur doit produire les renseignements sur les modifications courantes (et tous autres documents pertinents) au moyen du Système de déclaration réglementaire (SDR).

Toutefois, les modifications nécessitant l’autorisation du surintendant (par exemple, une modification dont l’autorisation du surintendant est requise aux termes du paragraphe 10.1(2) de la LNPP, une modification témoignant d’un transfert d’éléments d’actif en vertu du paragraphe 10.2 de la LNPP ou une modification apportée à un régime qui relève de plus d’une autorité gouvernementale dont l’autorisation est requise en application d’une loi provinciale sur les pensions) ne peuvent être communiqués par l’entremise du SDR. Les documents justificatifs d’une demande d’autorisation du surintendant doivent être transmis par courriel à l’adresse pensions@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Relevé de modification d’un régime – Production au moyen du SDR

Création d’un relevé de modification d’un régime dans le SDR

Pour informer le BSIF d’une modification, l’administrateur doit d’abord créer un relevé de modification d’un régime dans le SDR.

  1. Dans le menu principal, placez le curseur sur Gestion des relevés et sélectionnez Créer un relevé.
  2. Dans le champ Nom du relevé, inscrivez « Modification d’un régime – no XX (s’il y a lieu) – AAAA-MM-JJ », soit la date d’entrée en vigueur de la modification ou des modifications (s’il y en a plus d’une). Par exemple :
    • Modification d’un régime – no 04 – 2021-01-01; ou
    • Modification d’un régime – 2020-11-15.
  3. Sous la rubrique Sélectionner un ensemble de formulaires, choisissez PP1- Modification d’un régime de retraite.
  4. Sous la rubrique Inscrire la date la plus rapprochée à laquelle le changement qui figure dans le relevé peut entrer en vigueur, saisissez la date d’entrée en vigueur de la modification ou des modifications. Si le relevé porte sur plus d’une modification, les modifications doivent toutes entrer en vigueur à la même date (ce qu’attestera, par exemple, une résolution du conseil de fiducie). Si les dates d’entrée en vigueur sont différentes, chaque modification doit faire l’objet d’un relevé distinct.
  5. Cliquez sur Créer. Le relevé apparaîtra dans la section Relevés provisoiresdu menu principal.

Pour en savoir plus sur la création de relevés dans le SDR, veuillez consulter le Guide de l’utilisateur – Gestion des relevés d’entreprise et les autres documents de formation sur le SDR sur le site Web du BSIF. Pour consulter d’autre matériel didactique, cliquez sur Formation et soutien sous la rubrique Système de déclaration réglementaire (SDR).

Comment remplir le relevé de modification d’un régime dans le SDR

Après avoir cliqué sur l’onglet Relevésprovisoires, l’administrateur sélectionnera le relevé nouvellement créé, puis il cliquera sur Modifier pour y saisir directement en ligne les renseignements pertinents et téléverser les documents exigés.

  • Ligne 1 – Saisissez la date d’entrée en vigueur de la modification (ou des modifications, à condition qu’elles entrent en vigueur à la même date) dans la forme suivante : AAAA-MM-JJ.
  • Ligne 2 – Entrez le numéro de la modification (s’il y a lieu). N’inscrivez rien si la modification n’est pas numérotée.
  • Ligne 3 – Répondez à chaque question en cliquant sur « Oui » ou sur « Non ».

Autres documents à fournir

Aux lignes 4 à 6, l’administrateur sera invité à téléverser des documents.

À l’instar des autres relevés contenus dans la section Relevésprovisoires, ce relevé peut être conservé sous forme préliminaire jusqu’à ce qu’il soit pleinement rempli et prêt à être soumis.

Dépôt du relevé de modification d’un régime

Lorsque vous serez prêt à déposer le relevé, ouvrez le sous-menu Soumettre un relevé dans la section Soumission du menu principal et cliquez sur le lien Soumettre/Envoyer dans la colonne Exécuter en regard du relevé à soumettre.

Nos coordonnées

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web du BSIF ou communiquer avec nous à l’adress suivante :

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
255, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H2
Téléphone : 613‑991‑0609
Adresse courriel : ReturnsAdmin@osfi-bsif.gc.ca