FSRA/OSFI Defined Contribution (DC) Pension Plans Technical Advisory Committee

Meeting Summary

Date: Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Time: 9:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Location: Videoconference

This summary sets out the key points discussed at the June 15, 2021 meeting.

Review of Committee Products

The meeting focused on the review of the following three products, which will ultimately be published on OSFI and FSRA websites:

  1. A Member Guide on DC Pension Plans
  2. Recommendations for CAPSA’s CAP Guidelines
  3. Summary of Committee Outcomes

In reviewing each of these products, the Committee discussed the scope, reach and value of the products for plan members and the pension sector. While Committee members provided detailed feedback on the products during the meeting, working groups will also be held in June and July to provide focused attention to the finalization of the Member Guide and the Recommendations to CAPSA.

Next Meeting

The final meeting of the Committee will be held on July 27, 2021. The finalized products will be released thereafter.

Attendance Record

Invited/AttendedCompany NameAttendance Status (R)egrets; (S)ubstitute; (VC)Videoconference
Caroline BlouinFSRA - EVP and TAC ChairVC
Tamara DeMosOSFI - Managing Director, Private Pension Plans Division and TAC Chair VC
Alex McKinnonUnited SteelworkersVC
Brett MarchandManulife Financial CorporationVC
Corienne LoganMany Nations Co-operative Ltd.VC
David VincentCanadian Benefits LawVC
Jo-Ann HannahRetiredVC
Joe NunesCanadian Institute of ActuariesR
Lisa JankovPension Investment Association of CanadaVC
Martin McInnisCo-operative Superannuation Society Pension PlanVC
Michael DoddCo-operators GroupVC
Michelle LoderMorneau Shepell Ltd.VC
Paul WebberCowan Insurance GroupVC
Roger MaguetCanada LifeR
Roman KosarenkoGeorge Weston LimitedVC
Susan BirdMulti Employer Benefit Plan Council of CanadaVC
Susie TaingSun Life Assurance CompanyVC
Tim MarkRoyal Bank of CanadaVC
Todd SaulnierAssociation of Canadian Pension ManagementVC
Zaheed JiwaniEcklerVC
Nikita BuffoneCRAVC
David Bartucci, James Hoffner, Jesse Heath-Rawlings, Paul DempseyFSRAVC
Benoit Brière, Chuck Saab, Mike Ius, Nadine Atallah, Sydney Roy OSFIVC
Carolina Geronimo, Jenny ChauBritish Columbia Financial Services AuthorityVC
Matt Krzepkowski,
Neil MacKinnon
Department of FinanceVC
Cole Mathews, Krista TeichroebMinistry of FinanceVC