New Supervisory Framework

On April 1, 2024, we’ll launch a new framework that represents the most significant update to our supervisory approach in 25 years.

Key changes include:

  • Expanding the risk rating scale from 4 to 8 points to enable earlier indication of changes in our risk assessment
  • Providing more information for regulated institutions on the drivers of their risk rating
  • Introducing new risk categories:
    • Business risk
    • Financial resilience
    • Operational resilience
    • Risk governance

The new framework gives enhanced rating information and tailors supervision based on an institution’s size and complexity. This enables timelier interventions while reducing unnecessary burden. It also helps institutions in better understanding our supervisory priorities and expectations.